fn key doesn't work for apple wireless keyboard???

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jsook724, Dec 24, 2009.

  1. jsook724 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    I bought a rocketfish bluetooth adapter(usb) and i have a PowerMacG5, and i just got the newest bluetooth wireless keyboard but the fn key wont work at all. i cant change the volume or the use the previous, pause/play keys, or fastforward because the fn key doesn't work. hellp???? please?:confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    Try toggling the Fn key setting in System Preferences > Keyboard > "use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard functions keys"
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    Have you checked System Preferences > Keyboard > Keyboard > Use all F1, F2, ... as standard function keys?

    [​IMG]
     
  4. jsook724 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #4
    yes. i checked that. ive tried everything. without the function key i cant use the forward delete either.
     
  5. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #5
    If you uncheck it, do you get the volume/brightness/etc. back (since they wouldn't be dependent on the Fn key)?

    If you haven't already, try un-pairing then re-pairing.
     
  6. jsook724 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #6
    i've re-paired it atleast 3 times now. and no, after i uncheck it, i still dont get the volume/brightness/etc. back
     
  7. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
  8. jsook724 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #8
    i will definitely try it. i'm dowwnloading it now.
    let me restart my computer and i'll let you know.
     
  9. jsook724 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    CA
  10. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #10
    Great! Glad that worked. Enjoy!

    I've have the BT keyboard since it was released. Works and looks great. :)
     
  11. jsook724 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #11
    thanks alot! if only my Shift+R worked. i get a capital r i have to use caps lock . but anyway, i used FunctionFlip and now i dont even have to hit the fn key for it to work. i couldnt use it before though because my computer couldnt even figure out that i had the keyboard. but thanks anyway :p
     

Share This Page