For those of you thinking about buying the new MacBook...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AppleRepairMan, Feb 9, 2009.

1. AppleRepairMan macrumors newbie

I put the new unibody MacBook to the test not once, not twice, but three times. That's right. I took 3 MacBook Pro's (two 15" and one 17") to the WiFi test to see just how the stood up to three white MacBooks...

My Airport is downstairs. I have had no trouble getting on line from my office upstairs- that is, until I bought a new MacBook Pro...

For some reason, my MacBook Pro will not pick up a connection from my Airport. So I grabbed 2 of my customers MacBook Pro's (that's right, I fix macs for a living) and went up to my office. NONE OF THEM CAN PICK UP THE SIGNAL. Furthermore, 3 white MacBooks did.

Back in the day, I found this to be the same case with the iBook G4 vs the PowerBook.
    Hope this information helps!

2. darngooddesign macrumors G3

Aluminum blocks radio signals, plastic does not.

3. SteveMobs macrumors 6502

SteveMobs

On the other hand, I, and many like myself are perfectly satisfied and think you should be too. So if you're in the market for a quality computer go out and pick one up, it's well worth it.

Or get on MR and bicker, ok, it's an aluminum case! The wi-fi signal has dropped off a bit, I haven't noticed too big of a change.

And if it bothers you then keep using your white macbook, no ones stopping you.

4. otis123 macrumors 6502a

i have a 802.11nairport extreme, so the signal is not an issue, my AL imac pickes up my WiFi at full strength, router upsairs, compy downstairs.

5. AppleRepairMan thread starter macrumors newbie

I don't need you to tell me that. I'm using it to type right now.
    I'm telling this to the world so they can make up their own minds. I don't tell people: "Buy this, it's quality" or don't buy this. I show people logical data.