Force EFI Firmware update?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rcklindave, Aug 5, 2011.

  1. rcklindave macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #1
    Does anyone know of a way to force my pro to reload the EFI firmware?? Bootcamp says i need to upgrade, but my mac is at the current level I can only assume the boot rom is corrupted but if i try to reload it the system says its already at the current level...
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  3. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #3
    IF YOU moved to lion you may have to wait for a patch.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Look into your utilities folder. Firmware updates usually gets saved there.
     
  5. audio_inside macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    Boulder CO
    #5
    Force EFI reload from CD

    This Knowledge Base article describes the process of reloading your EFI firmware from optical disk. Make sure you've downloaded the correct version of the firmware .dmg for your Mac:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1557
     

Share This Page