found a way to enable BASIC in commodore64 app.

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by knuster, Sep 6, 2009.

  1. knuster macrumors regular

    knuster

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #1
    it's real easy

    1 enable full keyboard in Settings
    2 Start a game, press the RESET key on the keyboard, voila, BASIC!

    have fun!!
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    Cool! That might just push me over the edge to buy it.

    Have you found a way to save your program? I thought it would be fun to "punch in" (ok, I'm a bit of a masochist...) the original text based Star Trek game.
     
  3. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    :eek: indeed ;)

    Maybe someone will come up with DEC RT-11, running on a LSI-11/03 emulator. Then I can play Colossal Cave Adventure, Star Trek and Super Star Trek the "old fashioned way". How about an animated 8" floppy door? :eek::D

    (my age is showing... :eek:)
     
  5. Kadman macrumors 65816

    Kadman

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #5
    I'm holding out for a hack that allows me to plug in my FastLoad cartridge!
     
  6. LostLogik macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #7
    Ha, how about an animated tape deck slowly spooling as the game loads, with a nice colourful screen? Now that's showing age. U remember the joy of actually upgrading to the 8" floppy :)
     
  7. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #8
    Oh - the C64 was a 5 1/4". 8" was on its way out by then. The ones I was referring to were on machines I used to work with and test in the '78-'82ish timeframe.

    (oooh - I should have left that one alone. I could have gained a few years there... ;) )
     
  8. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
  9. LostLogik macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #10
    course it was. Didn't think 8" sounded right. Memory playing tricks. Comes with age ;). You have me on the '78-82 timeframe though. The only computer use I remember that far back used tapes, which I remember having to splice when working for Ferranti.

    But I do remember making my first modem - 300 baud full duplex, not a "k" or "M" in sight! It was considered fast! Used it with my C64 to play on the Essex Uni MUDs
     
  10. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #11
    I wonder if that means Apple will pull the App from the Appstore when they find out about this "hack".
    Fence sitters better get this app just in case.
     
  11. yalag macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007

Share This Page