found loophole: 1st gen iphone plan while using 3g iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nioted, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. nioted macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #1
    I'm not sure if this has already been posted, i did a search and 0 results. So I was trying to update my 1st gen iphone to 2.0 and pwnaging it so I had to restore it first. I took out my SIM from the 3g iphone and placed it in 1st gen iphone. Once it was restored it I had to activate it again. I went through the process and I guess it thought I was a new customer because it asked my what rate plan I wanted and also how many txt messages. I then and finalized the process. I later took out the SIM and placed it in my 3g iphone and used it as before. I logged into my AT&T account and it said I had the 1st gen iphone and that my plan was $20 for unlimited data and $10 for 1500 sms messages instead of the $30 + $15 for the 3g iphone plan. All I had to do was renew to a new year contract but I dont care since I only renewed it 12 days ago to get the new 3g iphone so no biggie.
     
  2. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #2
    Does it let you use the 3G network or is it restricted to Edge only?
     
  3. thechidz macrumors 68000

    thechidz

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #3
    interesting... keep us updated on your bill
     
  4. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #4
    Ah, that's pretty good.


    It would be cool if you still had the 3G though service to your phone... but now your 3G iPhone only has edge...
     
  5. nioted thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #5
    yes, its fully funtional, 3g and all the bells and whistles
     
  6. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #6
    This has to be too good to be true... I wonder what the bill will be?
     
  7. ec51 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #7

    Haha....where or how did you confirm this?

    Not true.....3G is not PLAN specific - it is PHONE specific. My old Razr had 3G, didnt mean I had to pay for a specific plan to connect to it.

    I know this because, my friend called before he went to return his 3G that he was switching back to his 1st Gen and was able to use his 3G with 1st Gen plan AND connect to 3G.....the "3G" plan is no different than the 1st Gen plan other than the pricing - its just the new phone that is able to connect to 3G now.
     
  8. thechidz macrumors 68000

    thechidz

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #8
    I would do this too but now that the 3g iphone is eligible for my corporate discount I pay about the same if not less than before. But it is cool that this works, I kinda wondered about that. One caveat, lets hope they don't catch it and ask you to send the phone back. even if they asked you to pay the non subsidized price on the phone I think it will still be worth it though. Just see what happens, you can always play dumb:rolleyes:
     
  9. nioted thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #9
    No I checked myself and I'm being billed for a 1st gen iphone plan.
     
  10. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #10
    I'm afraid to try this...

    But like someone else said. I can just play dumb.
     
  11. hanschien macrumors 6502

    hanschien

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #11
    I wonder what will happen when you have to restore your iPhone 3G which kicks off the iTunes activation process because your SIM is now activated on the old iPhone plan.
     
  12. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #12
    I have two iPhones, one is the first generation with a GoPhone monthly plan ($29 + $20 data plan) and my 3G iPhone with it's normal 3G plan.

    I can take the GoPhone sim and put it in the 3G iPhone and still get 3G service on the GoPhone plan.

    The only difference is that with a 3G iPhone activation, AT&T is getting all this extra money out if us when in truth, the 3G service is available anyways and all you need is a 3G phone to get 3G service regardless of what plan you are on.
     
  13. harodude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    #13
    I have actually tried and succeeded with this exact scenario!

    I have 4 iPhone 3G's and they all have the old data plan on them~!

    Just got my bill, and ATT shows the regular 20 dollar data package.. WORKS LIKE A CHARM!
     
  14. ec51 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #14
    Grrr....you SIM is not activated with anything other than your number/account. Your ACCOUNT is what has the specific data plans attached to it. If you had to re-activate/restore your 3G it would just remove the 1st Gen plan and add the new 3G one.


    Im not sure how I could say it any clearer....
     
  15. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #15
    Well, i learn something new everyday.

    Think i'll try this.
     
  16. thechidz macrumors 68000

    thechidz

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #16
    I would just wait until the unlock comes out. Unlock it and use your sim then
     
  17. TriHFH macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #17
    it won't make a difference. at&t's system does an IMEI check periodically, and once it sees that you're using an iPhone 3G it will revert you back to the 3G data plan.

    or at least that's how i have noticed the system works, from past experience. can anyone confirm?
     
  18. hanschien macrumors 6502

    hanschien

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #18
    When I restored my old iPhone with my activated iPhone 3G sim inside it, i didn't get the option to restore from a previous backup and I had to choose an iPhone 2G plan. I would assume the same scenario to happen after restoring an iPhone 3G to be prompted to select a 3G plan.
     
  19. nioted thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #19
    nice you joined to club!! congrats :D
     
  20. hanschien macrumors 6502

    hanschien

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #20
    Can you try something out for us?

    Try restoring the iPhone 3G software and tell us if you're prompted to select a 3G plan.

    I'm not sure if AT&T can force you to a different plan without you agreeing to a contract.
     
  21. ubersalad macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #21
    Read your contract, AT&T reserves the right to add data back onto your plan if they determine that you are using iPhone 3G.
     
  22. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #22
    How poor are some of you that you will commit crimes to save $10 a month.

    Would you walk into the grocery store and stuff 3 lbs of sausage down your pant leg once a month because you could?
     
  23. ec51 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #23
    That's bc iTunes is set up to recognize the serial number of the phone, determine whether is 1st Gen or 2nd Gen and offer the data plans accordingly...
     
  24. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #24
    I decided i actually am not going to do this, because your write.


    Even though i have 2 iPhones, and the monthly phone bill for 700 minutes is $160...
     
  25. ec51 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #25
    When you signed that little pad when you bought your phone....that was your contract.

    Wellllll...let's do the math:

    Its actually an extra $15 a month (based on the 200 text messages for the 3G) and $15/month over a course of 24 months is actually $360 in savings.

    And yes to some its worth it, to each their own...
     

Share This Page