From 220 to 110 Volts, or avoiding to throw stuff away ...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by igmolinav, Oct 31, 2007.

1. igmolinav macrumors 65816

Hi,

I was a student in Germany. I bought there an external hard drive, a CD-DVD burner, and even a small ellectric coffee grinder machine.

I want to keep all these devices. However, all these products run with 220 volts (as most products for the european market), as opposed to 110 volts (like in the U.S.).

What specifically I need to do to use these products in the U.S. and how much can this solution cost ??

Thank you,

igmolinav

2. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

Most newer (or higher priced) electronics are made to use both.. You need to carefully inspect the power requirements, usually listed on the transformer block. From my experience, I've found that Laptops and many DVD players will accept both 110 and 220 power, meaning all you must do is change the physical plugs; easy to get a travel adapter at an electronics store. My old dell laptop, macbook pro, camera battery chargers are all 110/220 interchangable; that's good news.

The bad news is I've had a few items that weren't made for both, and I've fried a few of them. What you're specifically looking for on your electronics is the line: "Input: 100-240 VAC, 50-60 Hz." If it says something like "Input: 220 VAC" don't plug it in, at least in the US. (Notice the first line covers a range that you would use in both the US and EU? The second is EU only...)

The good part of the bad news is all the items I've fried had a "wall leech" (Some people call them "Wall Warts," basically the transformer is built onto the plug as is the case with many smaller electronics devices. The good news part is you can look at the physical size of the plug (that round one that's fairly standard and goes into your electronics) and look at the transformer's "Output" line, which is usually something like "9 VDC, 1.0 Amp."