Furious with Apple

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kingjames1970, Mar 23, 2017.

1. kingjames1970 macrumors regular

So, I'm new to this stuff going wrong with Apple kit.

I've had lots of unexplained shutdowns and loss of bluetooth connection with my 15" 2016 MacBook Pro. I've had my LG 5K replaced so that's not it! After a complete wipe and reinstall, I had a massive crash today (application memory?!). So phoned Apple care and definitely seems like hardware. They got me to go to the nearest store in the UK.

In store they said I had done everything they could and wanted to take it in for repair. I told them that couldn't happen as I have lots of work on and I wasn't happy with a £3k laptop going t*ts up after such a short while. After a fuss they told me they would replace it but because it was a BTO they couldn't. They said to phone the online store (where I got it) and they would update my notes and they would replace it.

Long story short, they would only take in for repair. I've got loads of work on, a faulty Mac and I have no idea what to do next. I can't afford to lose the freelance work that sending it in would mean. Anybody any idea what rights I have or what I can do?!

I'm so furious with them just now. Up until now I've considered Apple customer care to be first rate. Now I'm really regretting my MBP purchase.

2. Sanpete macrumors 68020

Bummer. I'm unclear on some details. What would you like them to do?

3. lambertjohn macrumors 6502

I probably would let them fix it, and while it was in service, I'd fall back on whatever computer you used before you bought the Macbook. Or, ask them for a loaner while your computer is being repaired. I'm like the other poster; what exactly do you want them to do? Sounds to me like they're trying to help you, but any route they take is going to cost you some time. No fault of theirs.

P.S. I have no clue what "Apple kit" is. Can you tell us what that is??

4. kingjames1970 thread starter macrumors regular