G.Skill Titan Series 128GB SSD in a Macbook Pro.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Fgozalo, Jan 21, 2009.

1. Fgozalo macrumors member

Morning all,

I've been searching around for a good SSD drive, but I'm no computer expert. This searh is all related to proceed in buying a new Macbook Pro, the model I haven't decided yet.

Aparently the best SSD available is the Intel one, but it is quite expensive. Last night, surfing in the newegg.com webpage I found this: G.SKILL TITAN Series FM-25S2S-128GBT1 2.5" 128GB SATA II Internal Solid state disk (SSD) - Retail

Have any of you heard of this SSD, or tested it in anyway with a Macbook Pro? Is it any faster then the one available from Apple. After reading the specs it does seen to come "close" to the Intle one.

One more thing, a question for the users toying around with the 2.8 MacbookPro version, was it worth it? I'm really considering to get this model and update it with a SSD drive, I'm just not convinced it's worth the price.

Ps': Sorry about my English proficiency, not my native language, nor second one.

SSD Specs, from the website:

General
    Brand G.SKILL
    Series TITAN Series
    Model FM-25S2S-128GBT1
    Device Type Internal Solid state disk (SSD)
    Expansion / Connectivity
    Form Factor 2.5"
    Capacity 128GB
    Interface Type SATA II
    Performance
    Max Shock Resistance 1500G
    Max Vibration Resistance 20G
    Sequential Access - Read 200MB/sec
    Sequential Access - Write 160MB/sec
    MTBF 1,500,000 hours

2. NintendoFan macrumors regular

3. air-ick macrumors member

air-ick

the link to the 64 gig ssd in not comparable. this new ssd has dual controllers. I have ordered one of these from newegg (the 128gig version) to put in my macbook. i was on the autonotify list and got the e-mail that they were in stock and ordered it. an hour later i checked and they were out of stock. mine is scheduled to arrive on friday. i'll post here telling what i think.