Galaxy S6

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by The Game 161, Feb 4, 2015.

  1. epicrayban macrumors 604

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #2801
    Would image processing have been as good on a GPE device? Samsung's post image processing is superb. Utterly superb.

    I was under the impression that stock Android's post image processing wasn't very good...?
     
  2. epicrayban macrumors 604

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #2802
  3. MRU, Apr 28, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2015

    MRU Suspended

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #2803
    Yep it's just software. Samsung could simply release their camera app on the playstore for the GPE of their devices.Or simply include it in the GPE rom for that device, just like how HTC's camera features are still present on it's GPE of the M7 etc..

    ----------

    Yep they are actually referencing to our threads on XDA - I have one on S6e sub forum and the other on the S6 sub forum.

    The app refreshing is annoying as hell for me. For example I could be writing this post - pause for a second to open a link in chrome / samsung browser to copy and paste the URL, and then maybe send a text message or check my calendar - but when I click on the app to go back to finish a post in Tapatalk - the app has to refresh because its not been kept in memory - which then deletes what I was doing and dumps me back to the main menu. So no matter how quick it refreshes - it doesn't undo the inconvenience of being dumped and losing what you were just doing.

    Simple things like this should not be causing app refreshes on a 3gb device. Heck a moto G doesn't do this with the same apps let alone anything more powerful.
     
  4. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #2804
    You could, and I hope they do, may buy a gs6 then. But the chances that the community gets aosp as stable as gpe is pretty slim. Don't believe even the gs5 aosp roms even compare to the gs4 gpe roms.

    ----------

    Yea , the dream would be to bring the camera app over for sure
     
  5. AppleRobert, Apr 28, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2015

    AppleRobert macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #2805
    I forgot, does the Alpha refresh apps?

    I doubt I will be able to buy devices in this size range any longer since I been going larger lately anyways. Even if the S6 was perfect.
     
  6. epicrayban macrumors 604

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #2806
    Just curious, maybe it's just Tapatalk? I'm not sure. I don't see this sort of severity in refreshes.
     
  7. MRU, Apr 28, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2015

    MRU Suspended

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #2807
    Pandora, Google Play Newstand, Google Play Books, Google +, Facebook etc... They all exhibit the behaviour. It's not just Tapatalk unfortunately.

    Of course - not all devices may exhibit it as we all have different roms/firmware builds on our devices and different apps installed - so like all software issues - some will be unlucky + some will get away scotch free.

    ----------

    It does but not when you only have 5-6 apps open. And were not talking about big apps (like games) either - just stock stuff.

    The Alpha may refresh after 9 or 10 open apps despite having 1gb less ram.
     
  8. AppleRobert macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #2808
    The second strike, the first being battery life concerns. After looking at the S6 at BB, I went with the Note 4 instead.
     
  9. MRU Suspended

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #2809
    Good choice, the Note 4 is still a killer device.
     
  10. TechnicallyTee macrumors 68000

    TechnicallyTee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2810
    So guys I went and ordered the 64Gb S6 again through Best Buy pickup. I got the email stating my device was ready, so I walk over to Best Buy since its right across from my job and go in there and they give me the device. Trusting their judgement I looked at the box and saw that it was 64GB and in Pearl White.

    I get outside the store and then look at the device to see that its a 64GB S6 Edge! Even though I could've got them for the Edge version and paid for the regular S6, I don't do things like that but I know some people would have seen it as a come up! lol.

    I went back in and told them it was the wrong device and they switched it out but they were looking at my like I was crazy to return it. Just wanted to tell you guys that real quick!
     
  11. epicrayban macrumors 604

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #2811
    You're too good. I would have kept it!
     
  12. TechnicallyTee macrumors 68000

    TechnicallyTee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2812
    Well for one I didnt want the Edge and I didnt want them to find out and then charge me for the edge version.
     
  13. jamezr macrumors G5

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #2813
    You did the right thing......you know what they say about karma!
     
  14. rockitdog macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #2814
    I switched back to my iPhone 6 today. I just can't get over the batter life on the S6. Such a disappointment. My tiny iPhone batter is much better. I'd be at around 50% right now on my S6 (around 11AM) in powersave mode. My iPhone is still at 77%.
     
  15. jamezr macrumors G5

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #2815
    I have the IP6 and S6 and find the battery to be about the same. But you can't go wrong with the IP6 anyway.
     
  16. epicrayban macrumors 604

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #2816
    What do you do that's so intensive from morning to 11AM?

    I wish the battery lasted longer too.
     
  17. rockitdog macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #2817
    Nothing, just a commute/bus ride & normal activity. The battery is just not good. My cell standby rate often was 30% of my batter life.
     
  18. epicrayban macrumors 604

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #2818
    Maybe you're not getting enough signal strength where you are traveling through during your commute.

    But yea, that is pretty bad to drop 50% on just a morning commute (and in power saving mode too). Even the iPhone dropping to 77% in that same time is pretty quick.
     
  19. rockitdog macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #2819
    I live in a major metropolitan area and have the best/biggest LTE network available. I've noticed that battery drain issue even on the weekends when I'm stationary. I'm sure a simple update would help, I know I'm not the only one struggling with battery life.
     
  20. epicrayban macrumors 604

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #2820
    Totally. Looking forward to updates too, both for the battery and the apparent RAM mis-management that is causing apps to refresh too often.
     
  21. epicrayban macrumors 604

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #2822
  22. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #2823
    No idea when it will get 5.1 but i hope it is soon.
     
  23. AppleRobert macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #2824
    A couple were heisted from a kiosk at a BB mobile store in my area the other day. I am pretty sure there would be measures taken to render these useless devices for the would be opportunist.
     
  24. mclld macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #2825
    I talked to someone from craigslist the other day who bought a clone for $500
     

Share This Page