Gaming on a 2.4GHz Macbook Pro 13"

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Ash9414, May 2, 2010.

  1. Ash9414 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Just want to see if any of you own the 2010 Macbook Pro 13" with the 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo processor, 4GB RAM and the 320M GPU, and can play any of the following games and at what type of settings:

    • The Sims 3
    • RollerCoaster Tycoon 3
    • Spore

    Also, do any of you play these games on an external monitor (20"-24") and if so do you have to lower the settings to maintain the FPS?
     
  2. T3hTruthe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #2
    I game on a 13" MacBook playing World of Warcraft at the moment and its honestly worth it played Sims 3 also and its enjoyable
     
  3. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #3
    it should be playable...

    the 320m is very fast, and gets a 3Dmark06 benchmark closing in on the 9600GTs of the last models of 15 and 17 MBPs. Its at least twice as fast as the 9400Ms... and currently the fastest chipset integrated GPU in existence by a very wide margin.
     
  4. Ash9414 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Does your MBP get hot when playing these games, and what sort of settings do you play Sims 3 on?
     
  5. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    All MBPs can get pretty hot under heavy CPU/GPU load - and modern games are pretty good at pushing your hardware to its limits.
     
  6. Ash9414 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Ok, well I don't believe the games above are that graphic intensive, apart from Sims 2 which was released last year. So I shouldn't have that much problem, anyway I'm likely to put the MBP in a stand for cooling and use a 22" external display. Does anyone here do that? I would like to know if the 320M is capable of playing games at around medium settings on an external display?
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    My sister's MacBook with 9400M can play Sims 3 @1280x800 with medium settings so 320M should be able to run it fine @1920x1080, maybe not all at medium but low-medium
     
  8. Ash9414 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    I'm guessing Sims 3 is the most graphically intensive out of those 3 that I originally posted? I probably won't see much difference anyway between low and medium will I, as I'm not used to playing games in HD. ;)
     
  9. Ash9414 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    Was just researching this and this is what I came up with:

    System Requirements for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3

    * Mac OS X 10.3.9 or later
    * PowerPC G4/G5 or later
    * 1GHz or faster (1.2GHz recommended)
    * 256 MB or higher (512 MB recommended)
    * 2.0 GB free disk space
    * 32 MB VRAM or higher
    * Radeon 9000 or better or GeForce FX5200 or better
    * DVD Drive

    Result: Should run at least medium with most high settings.


    System requirements for Sims 3

    * Mac OS X v10.5.7 or later
    * Intel Core Duo processor
    * 2GB of RAM
    * 6.1GB of free hard-disk space minimum (with at least 1GB of additional space for custom content and saved games)
    * 128MB of VRAM
    * ATI X1600 or Nvidia 7300 GT or Intel Integrated GMA X3100
    * DVD drive

    Result: Medium settings would be my best bet, this guy says he can play med-high settings on the old 2.26Ghz w/ 2GB RAM and 9400M.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6XbjBMVRr0
     
  10. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #10
    My wife plays Spore on her 2 year old MacBook so you'll have no problems with it.
     
  11. Liam8 macrumors 6502

    Liam8

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    Sims works great and so does Spore until recently it keeps randomly shutting down:mad:
     
  12. Ash9414 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    Do you have a 2010 13" MBP, and what processor is yours? Just checking to see if the 2.66GHz is any better at playing games. Haven't come across anyone with the 2.66 yet though.
     
  13. ApexLee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #13
    I have the 2.66GHZ version with a 128GB SSD. Once I've installed some games on this I'll let you know how it gets on.

    I'm currently waiting for Age of Empires III, pretty sure that will run on High.
     
  14. Ash9414 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    Would you say that Age of Empires is a higher spec game than the ones I mentioned in the first post. I'm only getting the 2.4GHz MBP because I can't justify the £250 price difference, when only processor speed is increase and 70GB of extra storage which I won't need (and could upgrade later anyway).
     
  15. ApexLee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #15
    I would have said The Sims 3 is more graphical intense than Age of Empires III, but I'll give it a go sometime and let you know.
     

Share This Page