Getting a lot of "can't establish a secure connection" errors

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by HDFan, Nov 19, 2018.

  1. HDFan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #1
    Right clicking on links on the home page to open in a new tab I am randomly getting these errors. Refreshing the page sometimes fixes it. The home page link to this forum gave the error, so I had to go into forums to make this post.

    Screen Shot 2018-11-19 at 17.52.25.png Screen Shot 2018-11-19 at 17.51.58.png
     
  2. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    any anti virus software? and is your clock set correctly?

    arn
     
  3. HDFan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #3
    Clock on my iMac Pro is set to the correct time.

    Anti-virus is Sophos.

    Tried the still available links and some random ones and the problem seems to have gone away. If this happens again is there something I should do to help diagnose?
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #4
    I've seen this a few times recently as well. I thought it was me and left it alone. Refreshing the tab a few seconds after the message fixed it for me.

    I'm not using any anti-virus and my clock is set correctly.
     
  5. HDFan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #5
    Just happened again. I just reinstalled 10.14.1, Safari 12.0.1


    Screen Shot 2018-11-20 at 04.11.47.png
    tried it again as I wrote this and got no error.
     
  6. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
  7. staggerlee41, Nov 20, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2018

    staggerlee41 macrumors 6502

    staggerlee41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #7
    I got this several weeks back and it then went away. This morning I've been seeing this consistently. I tried using another browser and got in. Also disabling the Content Blocker in Safari allows me to see everything. As soon as I enable content blocking I receive the same message again.

    Edit: Well it keeps happening regardless of whether I disable Content Blocker in Safari or not. I am running AVG but even disabling it, I'm getting the same result. It is very intermittent but a real pain in the butt.
     
  8. sman789 Customer Support

    sman789

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #8
    I've gotten the error once a few days ago but it was clicking thru to a article link off Google.

    No AV and clock is right.
     
  9. Mlrollin91 macrumors G5

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #9
    I keep getting this on iOS. Not sure if it’s related. Only when trying to acces the forums.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Martyimac macrumors 68000

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #10
    Count me in. Mojave, Firefox, time correct, no changes to my Avast anti-virus program.
    This is first time today this computer has been able to get to the forums.
     
  11. raqball, Nov 20, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2018

    raqball macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    #11
    Same here... Constant on Safari, MacOS 10.14.1..

    Serious pain in the rear.. Tried everything, clearing cache, resetting DNS back and forth, authorizing 'always allow' for the certificate... Nothing works.. Sometimes I can disconnect and reconnect wifi and I can then connect without error, but most times not even that works.

    I have no anti-virus software...

    No issues on any other site other than MR...
     
  12. staggerlee41 macrumors 6502

    staggerlee41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #12
    Still getting this today using Safari 12.0.1, Clock correctly set, using AVG and even when disabled I get these messages. I've been experiencing this no matter what my content blocking setup is.

    I am however able to get here (so far) with Firefox 63.0.3
     
  13. Martyimac, Nov 22, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2018

    Martyimac macrumors 68000

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #13
    Got it again this afternoon. Turned off my VPN and was able to access the forums. But this morning I accessed the forums 3-4 times while the VPN was active.

    SO?????

    Edit: re-enabled the VPN about 1/2 hour later, has been working fine since then.
     
  14. Allyance, Nov 23, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2018

    Allyance macrumors regular

    Allyance

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #14
    Getting this many times today, ONLY ON THIS SiTE. I can go on other forums, news sites, banking, credit card sites no problem. NOT MY IMAC SYSTEM.

    iPhone works fine!?!
     
  15. staggerlee41 macrumors 6502

    staggerlee41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #15
    Now I'm getting it when using FireFox as well. First time that's happened and it's ONLY happening on MacRumors. Just as @Allyance mentioned I can get everywhere else without a problem with my Mac.
     
  16. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #16
    I have been getting a lot of this as well the last several days. It has happened to me several times today, with or without the VPN.
     
  17. Martyimac macrumors 68000

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #17
    Yep, me too.
     
  18. HDFan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #18
    Thinking that maybe some of my extensions might be causing the problem I disabled all but 1Password and Evernote. Still happens.
     
  19. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
  20. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #20
    My server guy says this should be fixed.

    Let me know if not.
    arn
     
  21. sman789 Customer Support

    sman789

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #21
    I was on a ton yesterday evening and didn't have any issues. This morning is smooth as well. Behind a VPN too.
     
  22. Mac'nCheese macrumors 68040

    Mac'nCheese

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #22
    I had the same problem at work for days. Thought it was my work connection, so far, so good, today thankfully.
     
  23. Peterkro macrumors 68020

    Peterkro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Communard de Londres
    #23
    Seems OK for me in the last hour.I was getting about a third "can't open page" before. U.K.
     
  24. Martyimac macrumors 68000

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #24
    So far so good but it was very intermittent... Will try and remember to respond after 1-2 days.
     

Share This Page