Getting oil off of alum macbook keys

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by thecoffeebean, Feb 15, 2009.

1. thecoffeebean macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I bet this question has been posted already, but I'm new so I will post it anyway. What is the best way to get the oil from my fingers off of my macbook keys? I've heard different things from Magic Eraser to toothpaste, so I'd really appreciate it if any of you could let me know what your experience has been. I've only had my macbook for a few months but I'm a law student so I use it all the time and now the keys are shiny. Gross, I know. Help please!

Thanks

2. domcole macrumors regular

The 'Search' button is your friend :rolleyes:

http://forums.macrumors.com/search.php

3. Mr D macrumors 6502

These are probably the worst posts on forums, JUST telling someone to search. Think about it, you're sitting there on your computer, someone posts a thread about a topic, and you tell them to search. The next person who searches will run into this thread, and receive no useful information. How stupid can forum members be? Why not answer the question and then lead the person to search?

I don't know the answer, and I've search finger oil and "remove oil" for this forum, and nothing useful came up.

4. uicandrew macrumors 6502a

so just because you're new gives you the right to post another thread?

it gives you NO right at all.

I've actually answered this question before, so i know it exists.

so SEARCH!

I've already spent the time to type in a response in other thread about how to clean it, so why should i put forth the effort to type it again while encouraging lazy bums to not do any work of their own. I'm not going to be an enabler.

It's about keeping the forums neater so it isn't clogged up by posts like "what is the best sleeve for my macbook" or "how to i get the grime off my white macbook" (the latter question has been answered many times since 2006)

5. The Samurai macrumors 68000

The Samurai

Chill out ladies.