Getting WOW add-ons to work

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by cadfaeltex, Oct 15, 2009.

  1. cadfaeltex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #1
    I recently started playing WOW on my iMac. I down loaded several add-ons but the only one I got to work was Questhelper. I remember Auctioneer and Gatherer 3 were other ones I got that didn't work.

    I saw in another thread that several people were using these. Is there a trick? I dowloaded them, they uncompressed on my desktop, and I moved them into the wow interface folder.

    TIA,
    Tony
     
  2. DMJG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #2
    I'd suggest going to the Add-Ons screen and see if the ones you added are loaded. If they are marked as out-of-date, check the Load Out Of Date box, I think it's at the upper right of the screen.

    Many useful mods don't get updated each patch, or at all. Every Blizzard patch turns off the Load Out Of Date flag, too. :(
     
  3. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    If the addons are inside an extra sub folder (say you downloaded Auctioneer.zip and it decompressed to /Auctioneer/Auctioneer/ or something like that) they won't be recognized. Otherwise do as DMJG suggested and see if they're being flagged as out of date and turn the option on if necessary.

    You could also try using the Curse client software to manage addons. It's kinda buggy but it works and makes them easier to keep up to date.
     
  4. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #4
    BY FAR the easiest and least hassle way to get WoW addons to work is to download WoWMatrix (google it)

    It's available for mac and you can search for addons and download them. WoWmatrix will install them automatically.

    Before I quit wow I used it all the time and it was hassle free. If you were every in question about updates you can run it up and have it check for updates and it'll prompt you.

    Very useful tool.
     
  5. cadfaeltex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for the help. They don't show up on the screen inside the game at all. Think aphex may have hit on it so I'll go look for it. I'll also look up the WoWmatrix Kkat69.
     
  6. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    No, don't use Wowmatrix, it does illegal stuff. Use Curse instead, it's definitely the best.
     
  7. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #7
    It's really easy to download an addon, unzip it (if it does not happen automatically) and place it in your wow>interface>addons folder. I prefer manual installs.
     
  8. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #8
    Care to elaborate?

    WowMatrix is only searching for addons on curse and ace and updates your old ones?
     
  9. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    Taken from another website:

    WoWMatrix denies ad revenue from the addon sites that work hard to bring the community addons.

    WoWMatrix distributes addons in a means that authors have no control over.

    WoWMatrix is in the addon distribution game for themselves. They are leeches of content that they did not get permission to re-distribute.

    WoWMatrix financially profits from addons while giving nothing back to the community. They have no rep who posts on these forums. They offer no addon making tools, no discussion forums or comment sections.

    WoWMatrix financially profits from thousands of author coding hours and thousands of website building hours. And what do they give back? An executable that promotes their website, and that's it.

    If you are an addon user and use WoWMatrix, I would ask that you stop using it. It is insulting to authors whose addons you use. It is also, in my opinion, an illegal endeavor on their part.
     
  10. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #10
    Dont' click on the ads

    No different that you googling the addon or downloading it yourself. Your just letting someone else do it for you. Work smarter not harder I say.

    See above comment. No different. I'd prefer one stop shop.

    I download addons all the time, yet I don't post in those forums, or offer no addon making tools etc, sooooo again, who cares?

    Bla bla, seriously, I still prefer one stop shop.

    Not illegal, maybe immoral but nothing really illegal.

    The curse client is beta for macs last I checked. I personally haven't had any issues with WoWMatrix since I've used it.

    Most of these addon sites want the people to visit THEIR site so THEY can profit from ads etc. Keep that in mind.

    Regardless, it's easier, less hassle, and a one stop shop. Soon as Curse addon gets more stable for the Mac I would be more than happy to suggest it to my WoW friends but in the meantime, Wowmatrix is the way to go and when you no longer want to use wowmatrix just delete the *.app and that's it. You can move onto the curse addon installer which again, I'd gladly promote if it were more stable.
     
  11. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    I've been using Curse since I resubscribed 2 weeks ago, haven't had one problems and it is perfectly stable. And at least Curse supports the developers.
     
  12. QuantumLo0p macrumors 6502a

    QuantumLo0p

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #12
    One more thing, it is probably wise to never use an installer; simply unzip the file and copy the directories to the AddOns folder manually. There have been reports of malware in some installers.

    Also, make sure your AV program scans the unzipped folder(s) for possible malware.
     
  13. Rampant.A.I. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    #13
    I run Omen (threat meter) Recount (DPS meter) and QuestHelper (memory hogging slowdown addon that occasionally helps complete quests faster).

    I've never been able to get Gatherer or Auctioneer working properly. I'm not sure why.
     
  14. Vivid.Inferno macrumors 6502

    Vivid.Inferno

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #14
    Next to you log into WoW when you get to your Character Screen you'll notice and "Add-On" button on the lower left corner. Click that and make sure all your add ons are check off as being used. If they aren't checked off they won't load in the game. Try that before going to WoWmatrix or curse.
     
  15. siorai macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #15
    Not to mention Curse were never thieving bastages stealing bandwidth from legitimate addon hosts. *cough*WoWMatrix*cough*

    The Curse client is perfectly fine and stable to use. I've been using it from the very day that it was released with next to no problems.
     
  16. Aven SkyGazer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #16
    fluidframes?

    can any one post a step by step on how to get fluidframes addon to work?

    can't seem to get it right. It will not show "add-ons" at the character screen even after I put the files (i may not be placing the files correctly) into the addons folder.
     

Share This Page