Gevey Turbo Sim

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Frenchjay, May 9, 2011.

  1. Frenchjay macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #1
    Ok guys i have a some questions regarding this hardware hack for the iphone4.

    1.If i am on a Vodafone uk contract sim and i want to use a pre-paid sim will this work?

    2.Will this work for 4.3.3 and do all the Gevey sims work for iphone and 4.3.3 or is it a specific one?

    3.Is it possible Apple could release an update that would render this unusable?

    I want to ask people in the uk with any experience with this in particular. Have you had any problems with connectivity and loss of 3g?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #2
    Are you currently using your iPhone in the UK on a Vodafone contract? If you are, they will unlock it for you for free and it will work with any sim (contract or PAYG) from O2, Vodafone, 3, T-Mobile, Tesco, etc,etc
     
  3. Frenchjay thread starter macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #3

    Yes i'm in the uk and currently using a Vodafone contract sim.
    Will they unlock it even though the contract is not finished? Thanks for the quick reply. :)
     
  4. Frenchjay thread starter macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #4
    Anyone else have any experience with these unlock sims?:confused:
     
  5. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #5
    I believe they will (you still have to complete your contract though)

    See the form here
     
  6. italeki macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #7
    My iPhone 4 is unlocked with the Gevey. My phone works great with it. The only problem with it is when the signal drops for whatever reason, I have to re-configure it to connect back again.
     
  7. Frenchjay thread starter macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #8
    Would you say it is less stable than a regular sim? I want to get one because I think it will be more attractive to buyers when I come to sell my ip4 for the ip5. Also I don't want to take my contract sim abroad and incur any charges. I would rather pre load the amount onto the sim and know when I'm close to running out of credit.

    I'm thinking of buying a turbo sim in the next few days just to try it out. They are on eBay from trusted sellers for 6£!
     
  8. bbmiLo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    #9

    I wrote a short review awhile back, you can take a look:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1146283&highlight=

    In short, it works great for me, both on China Mobile in China and T-mobile in USA. I never had to redo the unlocking process if I drop signal, it automatically finds it and reconnects.
    I know for a fact it works for 4.3.1 and 4.3.2, don't know about 4.3.3.
    Apple does have the ability to close the loophole with an upgrade, so you need to be very cautious with IOS upgrading.
     
  9. Frenchjay, May 9, 2011
    Last edited: May 9, 2011

    Frenchjay thread starter macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #10
    Thanks! This is what I needed to know. This site says the sim supports 4.3.3 which I'm on now.

    http://www.unlockaniphone.org/

    I remember sims like this available on the 3GS and apple never closed it down.
     
  10. Frenchjay thread starter macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #11
    I'm a bit confused on which one to buy too. eBay listings are claiming only the pro sim wil work with 4.33 which is more expensive than the other ones.
     
  11. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12
    nevermind.
     
  12. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #13
    I would love more info on this if anyone is using this in the UK or around mainland Europe!

    I currently have a contracted iPhone in the US with AT&T but will be spending 2 months on London and around Europe for study abroad term this fall, and have been looking into any possible way to be able to use my iPhone over there. I don't really want to jailbreak (nor do I know how) and my iOS (4.3.3) and Modem Firmware (4.10) wouldn't work with jailbreaking.

    If these seems like a possible solution, I would just buy this guy and then get a pre-paid sim somewhere in the UK which I'm assuming is pretty easy to do?

    Do they also offer data plans with pre paid or PAYG sim cards in the UK?

    Thanks!:D
     
  13. Frenchjay thread starter macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #14
    Yeah it's easy to get a micro sim. You can walk into the carrier store and get one really easy. O2 have great deals on pre pay. I think for 15£ you get 500 mins 1000 texts then you add "bolt ons" say 5£ for 1gb data, 5£ for international calls etc. :)
     
  14. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #15
    Thanks for the quick info!!

    So in order for it to work with iOS 4.3.3 I have to get the Turbo one is this correct?




    Anyone else using this around UK that can share their experience? :D:D

    Oh also, when you guys say "You have to reconfigure if the signal drops or if the phone powers down" what exactly do you have to do? Just toggle airplane mode? Restart the phone?
     
  15. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  16. Superman80 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #17
    OP have you missed post #5

    They will unlock your phone officially for free
     
  17. Frenchjay thread starter macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #18
    Yes i realise that but the contract has not ended yet so they won't honour it.
     
  18. Frenchjay thread starter macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #19
  19. sou1 so1di3r, May 10, 2011
    Last edited: May 10, 2011

    sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #20
    Cool dude!:cool:

    That's actually fairly cheap. I'm going to be in London from Sep-Nov so that will work out great... and it's not that expensive.. like £30 would last me the whole two months (what is that like $54-$50? haha)

    I was reading this at the bottom though

    I wonder if I just wait until I actually get over there and then just go to an O2 store (I'm assuming these exist?) you think they would unlock it?? :D


    Edit: oh yeah and I saw that unlock request form. I tried to fill it out but I'm sure they will deny it... I'm from the US so they will know I don't have a UK contract
     
  20. Frenchjay thread starter macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #21
    It seems if the won't honour the unlock the only way apart from jailbreaking is the Gevey sim adapter. This is the same for me.
    I know they won't unlock whilst i'm under contract so the sim adapter is the way to get round that. :D
     
  21. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #22
    Yeah. So are you using the Gevey Sim Turbo currently on iOS 4.3.3?

    If so how is it? That sounds like what I'm going to have to do.

    Anyone know if UK stores can do unlocking at store (saying if they would honor it) or is it some long process you have to get approved (via the online form)?

    :confused::):apple:
     
  22. Frenchjay thread starter macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #23
    No i don't have it yet but i want to buy it soon.
    I don't think they will unlock it unless the contract you are currently under is finished.
    You would have to prove the contract is finished and then the carrier would have to be the same as the one you have now :)
     
  23. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #24
    yeah so that wouldn't work because mine is obviously a US iPhone from AT&T.

    oh well... report back if you do buy it I want to know how well it works!:D
     
  24. Frenchjay thread starter macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #25
    Will do my friend!! :)
     

Share This Page