Gigabyte Rx480 not giving display

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by blackdbird, Jan 16, 2017.

  1. blackdbird macrumors newbie

    blackdbird

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    #1
    Well i m having a wired problem , i just got myself a new gigabyte rx480 g1 for my 2010 mac pro as i m running 2 monitors , 3440x1440 & 2560x1600 .. and 5770 was not powerful enough to handle that much pixels .. anyways back to the problem .. before rx480 i got myself gigabyte r9-280x and i was working totally fine with internal power supply , my friend bought from me for few days and eventually burnt the card .. and i had to get myself a new card and with the help to this this awesome forum i got myself rx480 g1 .. i live in a third world country where multiple brands are not an option .. the only option i got was this 480 g1 .. anyways i got the card & i did followed the guide like this

    Rebooted the machine into recovery with 5770 Gpu & run the command
    Rebooted again into OS . . . edited the AMDRadeonX4100.kext and the ran kextwizard ...
    shutdown the computer & removed the 5770 & plugged the rx480 and turn on the machine ...

    even thou i was able to see the RGB and Fans spinning of the card & waited for like 5 to 10 min and i had no display
    tried again and still no display

    plugged the rx480 in to windows gaming machine and i got the display and everything was working fine . i then again plugged in the card to the mac and still no display .. then i used my 980ti hybrid from my windows machine just to make sure that things are working .. but again i was not able to see any display with that card too .. anyways i plugged back the 5770 and things again start to work perfectly fine ..

    soo what i m doing wrong ? ? ? ?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    980Ti will display nothing until you install and activate the Nvidia web driver.

    For the RX480, it's possible that you did't really fix the kext permission. Therefore, no driver loaded.

    IMO, you should plug in the RX480 before you do any kext editing.

    If the card work, it will display, but just no acceleration. And then, you can edit the kext and restart the machine.

    And now, if you can recovery the original X4100 kext, I will recovery that file and try to boot with RX480 and no acceleration. Otherwise, re-insall macOS (or a clean install OS). Then test if the card works without kext edit.
     
  3. blackdbird thread starter macrumors newbie

    blackdbird

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    #3
    can u share the x4100 kext as i lost original
     
  4. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #4
    Reinstall the latest Combo Update, this should restore the original kernel extensions.
     
  5. blackdbird thread starter macrumors newbie

    blackdbird

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    #5
    Well i intalled the combo update & tested the Rx480 and it didn;t work . i waited atleast 15min before force powering down the machine .. on the other hand i updated the nvidia driver and setted the option to Nvidia Web Driver and tested my 980ti again and it start to work .. but no go from RX480
     

    Attached Files:

  6. theitsage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #6
    Can you post images of your Gigabyte RX 480 and its ports layout?
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Since you already tested the RX480 works on another machine. And now the 480 won't display anything even without kext edit. So, my guess would be that you unluckily pick a 480 that doesn't work in macOS.
     
  8. blackdbird thread starter macrumors newbie

    blackdbird

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    #8
    Well it started to work like awesome .. basically the problem was not with the graphics card but with the monitors . i had to turn off the DisplayPort 1.2 from the settings on both of my monitors and Voila , the card start to work with both of my display now the thing that remains is that how can i know that my card is running with it possible full potential
    --- Post Merged, Jan 17, 2017 ---
    btw m i the only one that i able to see the boot screen with RX-480 and 980ti ???
     

    Attached Files:

  9. theitsage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #9
    Glad to hear you figured out the culprit with the monitor. What you see is not really the Boot screen. It's only the last stage of boot.
     
  10. blackdbird thread starter macrumors newbie

    blackdbird

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    #10
    are these good enough scores ?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. theitsage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #11
  12. blackdbird thread starter macrumors newbie

    blackdbird

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    #12
    are these good enough scores ?
     

    Attached Files:

  13. theitsage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #13
    That's excellent.
     
  14. blackdbird thread starter macrumors newbie

    blackdbird

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    #14
    Thanks Brother :)
     
  15. mugwump, Jan 20, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2017

    mugwump macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    #15
    Hmm, I did this and it worked great, but now my AMD Gigabyte 470 fan is always running. How would I back out of this script and remove it back to the default original state? Hopefully I can undo this, and use it if I need the horsepower.

    Thanks for the info.
     
  16. Stephen Valente macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #16
    Would the RX 480 be considered a good upgrade, even if I don't flash it in my 4,1 Mac Pro? (will be firmware upgraded to 5,1 in due course). Is one brand less problematic than any other?
     

Share This Page