Going to US in Feb, some questions!

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Tanax, Jul 14, 2012.

1. Tanax macrumors 6502a

Hey!

I'm going to US(Miami + NY) in February and I'm having some questions regarding a possible purchase of a MBA(yes I know it's pretty far off but whatever).

1. I searched around and it seems that it is not possible to get a Swedish keyboard layout in any way, not even when BTO, which kind of sucks. So I'm stuck with the American keyboard. Does anyone know a good keyboard cover that fits the American keyboard layout, but has the Swedish keys?

2. I'm a student so I was going to opt for the educational discount. However, upon reading a bit more it seems this only applies for US students. Do they check if you actually go to a university or how does one actually opt for the educational discount(when ordering in the store)?

2. entatlrg macrumors 68040

entatlrg

Long wait and a lot of work just to avoid paying some tax.

Another way to look at it is just buy one in your home country, do your part and pay your tax.

Sure your taxes are higher than in USA ... but you get a hell of a lot for it too, healthcare, education, balanced and safe country ...

How's that for a reply ;) managed to throw in politics, morals, and a compliment to your beautiful country :D

3. KPOM macrumors G5

According to this old thread, an Apple Store was able to order a Swedish keyboard and swap it out.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=455517

That was 4 years ago, though. I'm not sure if it would work now. How long will you be in any one place in the US? It may be worth a shot. Maybe just call one of the stores and explain the situation and see if they can order a Swedish keyboard. If they can do it now, they'll be able to do it in February. Apple offers French, Spanish, and Japanese keyboards through their US website (I don't know about the stores).