Good Purchase?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Ih8reno, Apr 29, 2014.

  1. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
    Just picked up this Power Macintosh 9600/300 today. Seems to work on os 8.1 but all internet access files have been erased. Not sure if I should upgrade it to 9.1 or see if I can find 8.1 discs.[​IMG][​IMG]
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    Those are nice old machines. You can get OS 9.2.2 on it via OS 9 Helper. I highly recommend it as it makes it more stable and you get some newer things.
     
  3. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    That card should. I have an old IOGear USB card in one and it works in OS 9 well.
     
  5. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #6
    Does it matter how it says in the description mac g3's?
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  7. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #8
    I would love to see a video on YouTube of this thing. I can't seem to find any videos about these old G3 Power Macs.

    That's pretty cool, I'm tempted to go and look for an Old World ROM Mac for OS 9. I have an iMac G3 but it's dead, and my Power Mac G4 can boot OS 9, but OS X 10.5 has no support for Classic.

    I do have a disc for OS 9 that I got with my Power Mac G4, but I'm not willing to give it up :p
     
  8. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #9
    Well I can tell you it has since been upgraded to os 9.1. The thing sounds like a vacuum cleaner when it's on. I opened it up and it seemed well designed for it's time, plenty of room to add upgrades.
     
  9. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #10
    Can you post some pictures of the inside? I've always been curious of what the interior looks like, based on its external design. And, how tall is it? Are you able to give some dimensions? It looks quite large in its images.

    Sounds like my Power Mac G4. The Power Mac G4s were also known for being noisy. And the funny thing is that my Power Mac G4 has the quiet PSU.
     
  10. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #11
    About to go to sleep so I'll take more pics tomorrow. Here it is next to my power mac g5.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #12
    That's not much higher than a Power Mac G4, if anything at all. I guess it's of similar size. I was just curious because in every picture of the Beige G3 I see on the Internet it looks absolutely massive.
     
  12. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #13
    Well the beige G3 tower was actually a couple inches shorter than the 9600 if you're talking height.
     
  13. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #14
    So the Performa (am I right?) 9600 is roughly the same height as a Power Mac G5/Pre-2013 Mac Pro?
     
  14. BJonson macrumors 6502a

    BJonson

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #15
    I scored a 9600/350 last week and dropped in the Sonnet SATA card and now have a SATA hard drive in mine. Best $60 I ever spent. Works great under 9.1 but not 8.
     
  15. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  16. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #17
    No, the 9600 IS a Power Macintosh computer. In the minds of many (myself included) this is sort of the ultimate machine Apple produced in the 90's. I don't have a 9600, but I do have an 8600 which lives in the same case. I'll set it next to a G5 and show you the height and width differences. Also, the genius in how the case opens to allow you to add RAM and cards!
     

    Attached Files:

  17. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #18
    Oh, that's right, it is a Power Macintosh. My bad.

    That's a very interesting case design. I first though it was odd how there was that piece jutting out on the left side, but now I see why it was done like that. In my opinion, I think it's a more interesting way to access internals than Power Mac G3 B&W and Power Mac G4s.
     
  18. G4fanboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Andalucia Spain
    #19
    ALI chipset works?
    I only trust NEC for USB and TI (Texas Instruments) for firewire.
    Y.M.M.V.
     
  19. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #20
    That is awesome. And it looks to be in good condition
     
  20. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #21
  21. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #22
    That's a USB 2 card. OS 9 has very poor support for USB 2 cards. I think only one or two chipsets that are USB 2 work in OS 9, but at USB 1.1 speeds.
     
  22. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #23
    So won't work? The comp sees it in the system profiler

    [​IMG]
     
  23. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside

Share This Page