Google Latitude for the iPhone is now LIVE!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by critic81, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. critic81 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    Hey guys it now works. Go to m.google.com/latitude from safari on your iphone and you now have latitude working!
     
  2. critic81 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
  3. navajarunner macrumors regular

    navajarunner

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
  4. waterskier2007 macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #4
    when i go there on my iphone it just says coming soon
     
  5. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #5
    ya, coming soon, both on the mobile site, and the main website.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. davidwarren macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #6
    yup, me too.
     
  7. duelingdragons macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #7
    Really?
    That's weird, its working fine on mine...
     
  8. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  9. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #9
    Mine also says coming soon. Did the OP just lie to everyone or what's the deal?
     
  10. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #10
    It took a couple of refreshes to get it up and running, but it seems to be doing just fine....:cool:
     
  11. critic81 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #11
    Here is the fix, don't go to m.google.com/latitude in safari, make sure you go to google.com/latitude with no m. Then it will work


    EDIT***

    Now its not working for me!!!! what the hell. It did work, for proof look here http://search.twitter.com/search?q=latitude+iphone Maybe they shut it down who knows!
     
  12. cellocello macrumors 68000

    cellocello

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #12
    Working fine on mine.

    I'm glad this is out now for us. But I thought this was gonna be an app .... ?
     
  13. navajarunner macrumors regular

    navajarunner

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #13
    I thought this as well.
     
  14. optophobia macrumors 6502a

    optophobia

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Hudson MA
    #14
    yeah it WAS working for me then stopped.
     
  15. navajarunner macrumors regular

    navajarunner

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #15
    Looks like Google is pulling a "Yahoo Messenger w/Push"...
     
  16. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  17. angle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
  18. davidwarren macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #18
    even if it is working, they took so damn long to get it live, I forgot why I wanted to use this instead of loopt in the first place.
     
  19. kwjohns macrumors 6502a

    kwjohns

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
  20. critic81 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #20
    Ok for people who it's not working for anymore try this link out. Mine wasn't working then i went to my history and clicked a link and got it back. Try this.

    http://www.google.com/maps/m?mode=latitude

    See if that works!

    True it is lame, but for now Safari is the only thing that can run in the background without a jailbreak, so at least you are updating in the background. Man thought my 3GS battery sucks as it is, with this running its gonna kill it now.
     
  21. optophobia macrumors 6502a

    optophobia

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Hudson MA
    #21
    Safari can run in the background ?
     
  22. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    less space used on iphone, similar loading times...
    and without background apps, theres no point in a dedicated app as it can't update your location automatically, so how is this lame?
     
  23. critic81 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #23
    Oh man go to that site on your web browser and you get the iphone interface in your web browser. Pretty sweet. Full screen latitude!
     
  24. angle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #24
    That did the trick!
     
  25. davidwarren macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #25
    that works for me.... they must be close to releasing it.
     

Share This Page