Got the solid menu bar back in Leopard!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mitthrawnuruodo, Nov 15, 2007.

  1. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #1
    I'm so happy, I found this solution over at maxosxhints, and it works!

    Type this in Terminal and restart (oh, and never mess with system files without proper backup and all that ;)):
    Code:
    sudo defaults write /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.WindowServer 'EnvironmentVariables' -dict 'CI_NO_BACKGROUND_IMAGE' 1
    :) :) :)
     
  2. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #2
    cool I know someone that this drives them crazy, I will be sure to email this to them. Good find.
     
  3. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #3
    Oh awesome! I'm sure i'll be using this sometime in the future, depending on my wallpaper at the time.

    Thanks for that. :D
     
  4. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    Awesome! I'm living on the edge, downloading the Leopard update while running this command. We'll see if everything still works when I reboot...
     
  5. ~David macrumors regular

    ~David

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #5
    EEEEEWWW, this is terrible! All it does is make the Menu Bar white, it doesn't give it the standard grey gradient. It looks horrible lol.

    *re-enables transparent bar*

    Thanks anyways.
     
  6. ~David macrumors regular

    ~David

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #6
    Well I tried to re-enable it by changing the 1 at the end of the command to a 0 and rebooted.

    Well, it didn't bring back the transparency. Instead, it gave me the standard grey bar! :eek:
     
  7. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    I like the white! Lovely -- just what I needed. I had been using a kludge -- a black strip at the top of my desktop photo -- but this looks much better! The gray was too dark next to the gray window border of the topmost app window.
     
  8. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #8
    pics?
     
  9. ~David macrumors regular

    ~David

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #9
  10. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #10
    open the file in textedit and delete this:

    Code:
       <key>EnvironmentVariables</key>
       <dict>
             <key>CI_NO_BACKGROUND_IMAGE</key>
             <string>1</string>
       </dict>
     
  11. ~David macrumors regular

    ~David

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #11
    Thanks! :)

    Is there a way to just kill the Menu Bar, so that I can avoid rebooting?

    Edit: I can't edit the file, it says I don't have the proper privileges.
     
  12. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #12
  13. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
  14. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #14
    Now THAT looks like it's meant to, I"m sticking with that one!
     
  15. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #15
    Interesting.

    Apparently the 0 or 1 controls the color that goes behind the transparent menubar, with 1 being white and 0 being black.

    Would someone with leopard (i'm still on tiger) try putting in a value of 0.5 and see what happens?
     
  16. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #16
    Gives you a lighter grey... it's like in between... just as you'd suspect. I like this hack! I am using the "0" mod.

    How do people figure these things out... do they just sit there and type in stuff until something works?... or Maybe they work for Apple and the word just gets out eventually.
     
  17. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #17
    awesome.

    i can't wait to get leopard now. i really didnt like the transparent menubar. personally i think the 0 is a little bit too dark so i'll probably go around a .5 or so :)
     
  18. theman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #18
    i didn't like the transparent bar at first, but i just looked at a few tiger screenshots today, and that big white thing looked awful!!!
     
  19. That-Is-Bull macrumors 6502

    That-Is-Bull

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    #19
    I like the transparent menubar, it's less distracting and sexy as hell with some wallpapers.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. firstapple macrumors 6502a

    firstapple

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #20
    Could someone PM on how to get the american flag on the menu bar???
     
  21. Foxglove9 macrumors 65816

    Foxglove9

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #21
    So is there a way to change the shade of the metal color used on all the windows. That dark gray really bothers my eyes, and I just can't read the text in Safari tabs it's so dark.
     
  22. Luis macrumors 65816

    Luis

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #22
    I wonder that too...
     
  23. Mitthrawnuruodo thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #23
    That was the point, yes... :)

    I love my solid, white menu bar... that translucency is just a fab... *** waves fist ***

    System preferences -> International -> Input menu (tab) -> check "Show input menu in menu bar".
     
  24. mickhyperion macrumors regular

    mickhyperion

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    #24
    Another way to do it is...

    Open Finder>Edit>Special Characters. That's it.

    To remove it, hold Command and drag it off the menu bar.
     
  25. Foxglove9 macrumors 65816

    Foxglove9

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #25
    Does changing the menu bar to a solid rather than transparent put less strain on the GPU? Anyone notice things moving more smoother?

    I know changing the dock to 2-D made a big difference on my macbook.
     

Share This Page