GPS does not work after installing 2.0.1

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sowlerrmgh, Aug 5, 2008.

  1. sowlerrmgh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #1
    I installed the 2.0.1 update this morning and ever since the gps has not been working on google maps. The tower triangulation does not work either. I have tried restoring my iphone but it has not fixed it.

    Does anyone else have any advice or is anyone suffering from the same problem? It is very annoying because i used the GPS feature most.
     
  2. manchoi44 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
  3. imapfsr macrumors regular

    imapfsr

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria, B.C.
  4. Aravintht macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    mine doesn't work either

    London, UK

    (never jailbroken etc, using on o2 iPhone contract)
     
  5. Aravintht macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    mine doesn't work either

    London, UK

    (never jailbroken etc, using on o2 iPhone contract)


    i did and update...did anyone restore from scratch?
     
  6. seedster2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    same here in NYC.

    mine just keeps searching....:mad:
     
  7. hkftw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #7
    That's pretty weird. My GPS works fine, even after I updated to 2.0.1

    I'm in San Francisco, California
     
  8. cambridge1807 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #8
    I think mine still works. Although it took a longer time to get the blue dot on my current location.

    I'm in Orange County, CA
     
  9. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    mine's still working here (50 miles north of london)
    although it was slightly inaccurate, but i was inside
     
  10. Penguinwrangler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    Edgewater, NJ
    #10
    Same here, Northern Jersey. Just keeps searching.
     
  11. Rigby macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #12
    For me, the location service is spotty when I'm on UMTS, but works perfectly when I'm on Edge. :confused: Perhaps the Skyhook database is incomplete for 3G towers? Or assisted GPS for some reason doesn't work well with UMTS?

    Anyway, I think there must also be a software problem. Even if the cell tower positioning via Skyhook doesn't work, you should still get a GPS lock after a while. But in some cases the busy-indicator just keeps spinning and you never get a lock.
     
  12. sowlerrmgh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #13
    I have now managed to get mine working by turning off location services in the settings menu and then turning them back on again.
     
  13. ssierra macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    #14
    Mine works indoors, only if am connected to wifi, or ouside. My blackberry detects the position instantaneously although it hasn’t got GPS

    I am in UK.

    This is clearly a software issue.
     
  14. jfreak623 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #15
    Same here..ARGH!

    Im in Louisville, KY and my GPS is also no longer working after new update
     
  15. jephersun macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Daly City, CA
    #16
    Ditto...im from San Francisco...n the GPS works the same...locates me in about 3-5 seconds...
     
  16. enklined macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #17
    Working perfect on EDGE and 3G here.

    Sacramento, Ca.
     
  17. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #18
    The GPS signal is fine. Don't forget how much being inside, cloud cover, weather can effect signal reception.
     
  18. Greggio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #19
    I thought

    Hmmm...I thought something might be wrong with mine. I got it new yesterday and it triangulated my position in the flat last night (although I suspect not by GPS).

    Had patchy coverage all day because 02 was porting my number across and then it won't work at all this evening. Cell coverage has been fine, both Edge and 3G, Google Maps works, but the location thing - nothing!
     
  19. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
  20. spamdumpster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #21
    12 miles north of Boston -- GPS works fine regardless whether on edge, 3g, and wifi.
     
  21. dobosh12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #22
    Turning off 3g

    Hello all,

    I too have had an issue with location services since I upgraded to v. 2.0.1 last night. When i try to use location services in Maps and have 3G (with full bars), It just continuously searches but never find me. When i turned off the 3g and used maps, it found me within 5 secs.

    Hope they figure out how to fix. None of the apps I have, including the Camera ask me to use it anymore since it cannot find me. :mad:
     
  22. pj rage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #23
    That's so weird that alot of you are having problems. I'm pretty sure they changed something though, because mine is significantly BETTER after the update. I never had any real problems before, but after the update, the gps is locking on AT LEAST twice as fast as before (like 5-8 seconds now instead of 15-20 seconds). It also seems to be more accurate and tracks my position a bit smoother.
     
  23. stevearm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
  24. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #25
    Still works on 2.0.1

    <-Located right where it say's I am. Kinda creepy that I can watch the dot move with me as I move around my Condo. That's almost too accurate. :D
     

Share This Page