GPS Problems - iPhone 7 or iOS10?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Fireproof!, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. Fireproof! macrumors 6502a

    Fireproof!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #1
    Just noticed yesterday when I used my GPS for the first time since getting the new iPhone 7 - it had a lot of trouble getting a lock on my location.

    Using Waze - it periodically would say "No GPS. Try going outdoors..." And it sometimes it would find me, then sometimes it would lose me. Google and Apple Maps did the same thing - sometimes it would have me driving diagonally across streets in a neighborhood when I was cruising down the highway.

    Not sure if Software or Antenna issue.

    I did just notice that for some reason i'm on 10.0 and not 10.0.1 so I just updated and will try it again today. But posting now in case anyone is experiencing anything similar (or has resolved similar issues).
     
  2. VSMacOne macrumors 601

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #2
    It seems that all iPhone 7 models shipped with iOS 10 and need to be updated to 10.0.1 but not sure about the GPS issue. I haven't used mine enough to tell if I noticed any problems.
     
  3. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #3
    My 6S+ GPS works quite well. Even when in the house it can show if I am in front of the house on in the back room.
     
  4. Fireproof! thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fireproof!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #4
    Thanks guys. I've had every other version of the iPhone since it first came out. And for the past 3 years, I've had 4 in the house with my wife and kids. Never experienced GPS issues and know how it's supposed to work. This one is not working.

    I took off the battery case thinking maybe that's interfering with the signal, but still had the problem.

    Guess I'll have to take it in and hope they will swap for a new one. It's one of those problems that you can't easily demonstrate unless the Genius wants to go for a car ride, LOL.
     
  5. anopy1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #5
    I have actually noticed the same thing with my 7+. I have had it happen in Waze and tried Apple Maps thinking it was just Waze but it happened there as well. I use GPS every day but noticed it intermittently since Friday. Hoping a software update will fix it.
     
  6. Fireproof! thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fireproof!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #6
    Well at least I'm not alone!! Thanks for commenting.

    I'm hoping others will chime in. And also hoping a software update will address it.
     
  7. jensspark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    #7
    I'm using an iPhone 6 with iOS 10.0.1 and am having the same issues. I've had difficulty with Waze and the Starbucks app. I can open Starbucks and it places me somewhere completely different than where I am currently at. My daughter's 7 is doing the same thing.
     
  8. purpleparrotuk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #8
    I'm returning my phone because if this. Can't use running apps without my mileage being a mile out compared to my hubby's iPhone 7. For the same route. My route map looks like I'm drunk.
     
  9. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #9
    No problems here (iPhone 7+ 128GB AT&T Black)

    Though I'm going to go cycling later using Cyclemeter if it doesn't rain; we'll see if it has any issues then.
     
  10. rcckks96 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Location:
    Stamford,CT
  11. purpleparrotuk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #11
    We went for a run side by side. I finished at 8.5 minutes a mile and hubby 10.12. I know I go about 10 minutes per mile at the moment so I know my 7 is faulty.
     
  12. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #12
    Well, here's a segment from a bike ride using Cyclemeter; my 7+ is spot on.

    These problems are either regional, or some defect in a few 7 units.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. callihan_44 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    #13
    I will definitely will keep an eye on this, I use gps a lot!
     
  14. mzanker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    Similar problem with my 7+ - it seems to have difficulty locking onto the current location. It isn't wildly inaccurate - the blue dot just tends to jump around between mine and the neighbouring houses. It's the same in all apps that use the GPS. My old 6S+ was spot on.

    I've updated to 10.1b1 but it has made no difference. I have noticed that it's better in some locations than others. At work it pretty much locks on straight away, so I'm wondering if it's a reception issue.
     
  15. Resqu2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #15
    My 7+ using maps and google maps got me through one 7 hrour drive in a place I'd been lost in without it then an hour trip last night where I didn't even have cell service for a big part of it. It's also flawless on my runs and bike rides where my Fitbit blaze uses it. Id do an exchange if I was you, good luck.
     
  16. Fireproof! thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fireproof!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #16
    I'm thinking we may have some faulty units. I really hope the Genius at the Apple Store will just swap it out with another one.

    Do you happen to have any pics to show the difference in run mapping between your phone and your hubbies? I'd love to take those pics with me. (I don't run - so that could potentially show them this is a real problem). I do have some Waze "no GPS found" errors I've captured with screenshots that I'll take for sure...
     
  17. Fireproof! thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fireproof!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #17
    Quick update. Had an appointment with the Genius Bar yesterday and they replaced my phone with a brand-new one...no hassle at all. They just ensured I tried everything (resetting network settings, trying it without a case on it, rebooting, updating to 10.0.2, etc) - and since I had, he was like "okay, let's get you a new one."

    Cool. Good job Apple Customer Service!
     
  18. Rocko99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    #18
    But did it fix the issue?
     
  19. Fireproof! thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fireproof!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #19
    Oh sorry - YES! It fixed the issue. GPS can acquire my location quickly and I no longer zoom off diagonally across the neighborhood when driving straight on a street. . It's working like it should.
     
  20. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #20
    The only GPS issue I have with my 7Plus and my GF's 7 is that when in 'compass' mode in maps, it shows that I'm moving sideways. For whatever reason it won't get travel directly straight, but it maintains the roads correctly. I've tried toggling True North in compass settings. Doesn't effect the usage really, unless I somehow get lost in the woods. :p
     
  21. Alhagar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    #21
    I had this exact same problem. My guess is that it is a hardware issue as I had no problems running the iOS 10 betas on my 6s (unless the issue is related to 10.0.2 specifically). Did some different restores which seemed to confirm that the issue was hardware. Just back from the Apple Store (Upper East Side, NYC) where they gave me a "new" iPhone 7. Love Apple or hate them, gotta give them credit for their (generally) amazing customer service.
     
  22. Fireproof! thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fireproof!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #22
    That's great to hear! Sounds like the same problem and same great resolution. Love that they just hand us a new phone without hassle. I was afraid that they would restore as new, reset network settings, and send me off and say "try it now." LOL.
     
  23. Alhagar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    #23
    Well, we did restore it (as new) one more time in the store. I was in and out in 20 minutes.
     
  24. mzanker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #24
    Mine's got worse over the past few days. Now the blue dot is jumping around all over the place and won't settle down. I have a Genius Bar appointment next week.

    Incidentally, did anybody else get a call from Apple today? Somebody tried to call me but I missed the call. They left a message saying that Engineering want to better understand what's going on with the GPS issues.
     
  25. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #25
    Waze is a block off from my home where Apple, and Google map are spot on. I have the 6s 10.0.2. When I had the iPhone 7 for a few days Waze was off on that one as well.
     

Share This Page