Gtx 580

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jadolfo, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. jadolfo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #1
    Hi, is there any posibility to plug one gtx 580 on 2008 mac pro and
    run only windows?
    The power should be enough?

    tbks
     
  2. Major Reeves macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    EUSSR
  3. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #3
    Yes it would work good, and yes there is enough power.
    Thats the fastest GPU in the world right there :)
     
  4. jadolfo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #4
    (Offopic) and....
    i have a macbook pro so dont worry ..

    Is posivel ?
     
  5. toitle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    #5
    Very Possible

    It is possible to run a gtx580 in snow leopard, and it works very well.
     
  6. 10THzMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #6
    580 needs one 6-pin and one 8-pin PCI power.
    570 needs 2x6, which might be less hassle setting up.

    Still debating which to try now my 480 has gone to someone else.
     
  7. jadolfo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #7
    what do you do to run the card in ox ?
    Do you flash the card ?

    tnks
     
  8. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    The kind answer to this is no, it is not possible to boot into Mac OS X with a Geforce GTX 580.
     
  9. jadolfo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #9
    well i kown that..unfortunately
    But if i have a external psu to power the 580 in bootcamp shoul work
    anyone kwon external psu for sale to europe ?

    Tnks
     
  10. Timmyboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    #10
    I tried a gigabyte GTX580 in my 2008 Mac pro (running Windows7).
    The six pin power I pulled from the mainboard and the 8 pin I pulled from the molex plugs from the dvd drives.
    At first it seemed to work fine but after a few minutes the fan on the videocard stalled and the card went too hot and the system shut down. :(

    This same card does run ok on a i7 PC
     
  11. jadolfo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #11
    What card you use in boot 8800 gt?
    Maybe is because the psu not enought power ..
     
  12. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Don't ever to that!
    The 8 pin connector is supposed to deliver up to 150W, the molex line is intended for a DVD drive that doesn't consume even 20W.

    It is highly likely to burn the PSU with attempts like that.
     
  13. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #13
    The 5870 in my MP uses 2 6-pin cables.
     
  14. Timmyboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    #14
    The videocard comes with 2x Molex to 1 8 pin cables (2x)

    A friend has a GTX 480 working with this setup
     
  15. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Nothing to argue here. But the Mac Pro has a custom PSU. Standard PC power supplies won't have a problem with powering a graphics card from a Molex line. However, it is very likely that Apple adopted the Pro's Molex line to just be able to power a bunch of hard drives or optical drives.
     
  16. Timmyboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    #16
    Ah ok, that makes sense. thanks
     
  17. jadolfo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
  18. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
    I wouldn't even recommend the GTX580 in a Mac Pro.... unless, you want nice fireworks due to insufficient power through the old as **** Molex connectors.
     
  19. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    Newegg has a $30 5.25" PSU which is used by some users here. Haven't heard any complains so far.
     
  20. zealotzuo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #20
    Would using two 6-pins possibly work? I tried and got black screen in Windows.
     

Share This Page