GTX Titan 6GB superclocked on Mac Pro - Help

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by shortpballer, Mar 12, 2015.

  1. shortpballer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #1
    Hi,
    I just purchased a GTX Titan 6GB signature superclocked. I know that macvidcards says they recommend I use an additional power supply. However, I have heard that some people have been using it without. Is this true?

    If I do need to use an additional power supply, what is the easiest way to do this? I found nothing concrete on what I should buy.

    PS: running a 4.1 mac pro with 6 core 3.33 and 48gb of ram.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #2
  3. shortpballer, Mar 12, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2015

    shortpballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #3
    Then what do I need to do to get this thing working in my computer? I see everyone saying to by drive bay power supplies. But all the links from every thread link me to a newegg product that is no longer in stock.

    I don't know if it matters, but I definitely won't be pushing this graphics card to the max.

    I do photoshop work, and use capture one on 65 megapixel files (probably the hardest work my graphics card will do)

    I also play csgo (which normally isn't that hard on the graphics card).

    I purchased this card because it was a killer deal :)

     
  4. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #4
    MacVidCards offer a flashing and mod service your existing GTX 780 for $200.

    The 450W PSU that fits in a 5.25" optical drive bay I use to have link for on Newegg and Amazon but can't find either. Bing though took me to one of our threads! (450W PSU optical drive bay 2x8-pin ~ search)

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1472518

    Barefeats sourced a card that only needed 2 x 6-pin, not SC Edition, in order to avoid power having to come from an external. And as long as it has an 8-pin 150W + 75W + 75W is the max power under max load and stress.
     
  5. shortpballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #5
    It seems that every recommended PSU that fits in the optical bay is out of stock...

    Does anyone know where I can get one? Seems like its not all that hard to do, and might be worth it to be using a titan.

     
  6. Tutor, Mar 12, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2015

    Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #6
    This MIGHT work

    Place this - http://www.amazon.com/Dual-Power-Supply-Adapter-extra/dp/B00J3U2BBE - in a non-conductive case. Draw power for it from a SATA connector for the six-pin connection point on the Titan card. Use a "Y" 6-pin female + 6-pin female to 8-pin male PCIe cable [ like this - http://www.ebay.com/itm/EVGA-PCI-E-...060?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3f47afeb74 - e.g.,] powered by the two mini 6-pin PCIe connectors on the MP's motherboard (they're just slightly under the back side of the front fan assembly in the PCI-e card storage area of your MP). If you don't have the cables to connect their male connectors there, then you might try using two of these cables - http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mini-6-pin-...011?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item234326497b . Excluding the cost of the plastic case to enclose the SATA powered Dual-Power-Supply-Adapter, this will set you back about $27, excluding shipping and taxes. I don't vouch for any of these parts or this working because I've neither used them nor tried this before. So it's your baby from here on - the risks are all yours.

    P.S. Or use a cable like this - http://www.monoprice.com/Product?se...LbzW-adE6TPqqXqCCdk83lO3Lz8bp6HJSvBoCPTbw_wcB - and dispense with the SATA powered Dual-Power-Supply-Adapter (and the task of enclosing it). Google this - sata to pcie 6 pin - for other suppliers.
     
  7. shortpballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #7
    Thank You for your reply.

    This is the solution without using an additional power supply?

    Has anyone done this?



     
  8. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #8
    Actually Tutor's solution does require another external PSU, and the first linked adapter clearly shows a 24-pin main power connector is need to provide the GPU 6-pin power. Since your MP is 4,1 which has a single rail PSU with 79A for 12V, you could just tap two additional SATA power connectors to add enough power as suggested in this post. However you do need SATA to 6-pin adapter like this one and dual 6-pin to 8-pin adapter linked in Tutor's post. It's going to be messy to route these cables, but it does not require another PSU.
     
  9. shortpballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #9
    I'm a little confused to the link you gave me, doesn't send me to instructions on how to do this. It just send me to one comment.



     
  10. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #10
    This is the instruction. Connect one mini 6-pin to PCIe 6-pin cable to the 6-pin connector on your video card. Then connect 2 SATA power to PCIe 6-pin adapter plus another mini 6-pin to PCIe 6-pin to the 8-pin connector using the appropriate adapter as follows:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. shortpballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #11
    And this works fine without an additional power supply?

    Seems simple enough.

     
  12. xcodeSyn, Mar 12, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2015

    xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #12
    As long as your MP is 4,1/5,1 with a single-rail PSU and only one 8-pin power connector on the video card, you should be fine. Also avoid using FurMark for testing the limit. Each SATA power port theorectically has a max of 54W (12V x 4.5amp). Just don't try this on MP 3,1 and older since they use multi-rail PSU instead.

    Edit: Read this thread for more info and assume all potential risks on your own.
     
  13. Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #13
    XcodeSyn,

    Thanks for giving OP much better advice.
     
  14. shortpballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #14
    Thank You for all your help so far. Tutor as well.

    So what exactly do I need to buy?

    Is this all I need?

    http://www.amazon.com/Branded-8inch-15pin-Express-Power/dp/B005NJXY7O

    I currently only have the following cable:

    [​IMG]


     
  15. shortpballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #15
    After following this,

    Ok so I tried to figure it out myself.


    It looks like I need the following.

    1) the mpcie 6pin to 6pin (quantity of 2)

    http://www.amazon.com/JacobsParts-E...&sr=8-2-fkmr1&keywords=mpcie+to+6-pin+mac+pro

    2) 2 sata to 6-pin

    http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-SATPCIEXADAP-6-Inch-Express-Adapter/dp/B007Y91B80

    3) 6 pin + 6pin to 8pin
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/EVGA-PCI-E-...main_0&hash=item3f47afeb74&afsrc=1&rmvSB=true


    Can you please let me know if this is all correct? And if these exact ones are OK to order, and I will start ordering them all now :)

    Best Regards,
    Eric





     
  16. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #16
    Yes they are the correct adapters to order. Depending on where you tap your SATA power connectors, you may also need SATA extension cables as well, especially if you plan to use the SATA power from the optical bay.

    One minor detail is that you need to cut off one side (the thinner side) of plastic stub on the male SATA power connector, otherwise it won't fit into the SATA power female connector on the motherboard.
     
  17. Sedor macrumors member

    Sedor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #17
    Well, send a mail to epower ( http://www.epowertec.com/index.html ), I did it in December and they offered me one of their "450W Juice Box".
     
  18. shortpballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #18
    Just ordered it, thank you for your help.

    They should all arrive monday. Is there someone that has posted a how to on this? Seems pretty self explanatory with the exception of the SATA power from the optical bay. Where exactly is this located?



     
  19. xcodeSyn, Mar 14, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2015

    xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #19
    If this is too confusing for you, I suggest that you read the technician guide to understand better how to access each component of your machine. Just do a Google search on "2009 Mac Pro Technician Guide" and save the PDF for reference. (Can't provide a direct link because it's against the Forum rules for some reason.)

    BTW, this eBay link lists Visiontek 450W external PSU which can be installed in the Optical bay. It's $50 and not as cheap as it used to be from NewEgg, but it's still an option.
     
  20. lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    After major headaches with running AMD R9 280X's with my 4K screen (Samsung U28D590) I sold my dual R9 cards and went back to nVidia, but this time I purchased a GTX Titan, I already had the internal optical bay PSU installed and run the card with that however I thought the same as you to start maybe it will run just on internal power... Nope, at least not in the traditional manor, I never tried the patch sata connections however after the switch from AMD to nVidia and from FCPX to DaVinci Resolve... All is good in the work again and I have a crisp 4k screen with zero issues... If the numbers are correct, I would not feel confident with a GPU with a potential of pulling up to 350W

    GTX POWER DEMAND

    from the internal 980W PSU, 2 x130w cpu's, 2 SSD's, 4 x 2tb HDD, 48gb ram, bluray drive plus all the fans... For the sake of £50 ish would it not be safer to install a internal PSU?
     
  21. shortpballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #21
    If I install that, that means all the cables I just purchased are not correct anymore?

    That also means that I need to solder and possibly cut holes in my case to run the power cable through correct?

    I would really not prefer to do that. Again, the most stress I will be putting on the card is CSGO, Photoshop, and Capture One.

    People were telling me that it should be fine as long as I pulled power from the optical bay.



     
  22. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #22
    No the 5.25 power supplies have a slot cover that allows the power cable to exit via a pci slot. I use one it's quiet and has enough power that I never need to worry about my cards.
     
  23. lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    Exactly, no cutting or drilling holes in my cMP
    [​IMG]
    I at the moment have left a slot clear for the power cable to exit until I'm happy with my set up, the mod to the internal 5.25 PSU was to replace the fans with noctua nf-a410 flx fans which make ALL the difference and it runs super quiet so yeah, my internal power is supported with the additional PSU and the Mac still looks relatively un-modded (apart from the clear panel obviously)
     
  24. shortpballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #24
    All those power units that were on eBay are now sold. Crazy. That didn't even last a day for all 20.

    For now I will just try and run it on my internal power, pulling power from the second optical bay. You guys had said that this should work, so lets hope that it does.
     
  25. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #25
    It's too bad there isn't a simple PCIE card to pull the 75 watts available from unused slots.

    Titan does need the power. If you look at the barefeats test again he is mentioning a GTX780 6GB, a different card.
     

Share This Page