GUIDE: HDMI Audio

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by andrejkw, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #726
    Hi, can't seem to get this to work for me. I'm going to re-apply 10.13.5 to make sure all is back to normal first and then try again.
    That de101a0e, from where did it come, I've used iHex to find that string in my HDA original kext and it's not there?
    Just so I get this;
    The device ID for my RX470 is 0xaaf0, and the mac looks at this as de10f0aa?
    Screen Shot 2018-06-24 at 12.55.50.jpg
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #727
    10de is Nvidia's Vendor ID. AMD is 1002 (as per in your screen capture).

    Therefore, device ID of your card's audio part should be 0210f0aa inside the kext file.
     
  3. cdf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #728
    Please note that the fix is for Nvidia cards. I cannot confirm that it works for AMD cards. Try it with the right device ID (as mentioned by h98) and let us now. If it doesn't work, have a look at the WhateverGreen Lilu plugin.
     
  4. H2SO4, Jun 24, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2018

    H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #729
    Ok, I think I'm getting it. So as an example the original perl command is saying;
    Replace the string de101a0e with de10abcd, whilst mine would say, replace the string 0210xxxx with 0210f0aa.

    Thing is where does that de101a0e actually come from? That's what I can't get my head around. I'm assuming that the command won't work if it can't locate the string to be replaced?
    --- Post Merged, Jun 24, 2018 ---
    Yeah thanks for that. I'll have a look see. I don't mind trying some stuff out.
     
  5. cdf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #730
    It is one of the Nvidia IDs that Apple has whitelisted for audio in the AppleHDAController kext. We are simply replacing it with our own ID in order to be able to use HDMIAudio.
     
  6. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #731
    Ok, thanks. I'll have another look with iHex and see what I can find.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #732
    1) You should replace the whole de101a0e by 0210f0aa. The de101a0e is fixed, it won't change to 0210xxxx because you has a non Nvidia GPU installed.

    As cdf pointed out, this fix is for Nvidia GPU, no one knows if can work for AMD. But I think it's quite safe to try it. Just make sure you keep the original kext copy at a safe place, and able to reverse it if required.

    2) May be you look at the wrong place. Did you go all the way
    /System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDA.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleHDAController.kext/Contents/MacOS to locate this file?
    Screen Shot 2018-06-24 at 22.43.46.png
    This is the one you should search the string and replace it accordingly.

    NOT the kext itself. Screen Shot 2018-06-24 at 22.44.04.png

    If driver loaded for audio controller after string replaced (in PCI info), try re-install HDMIaudio.kext.

    If driver loaded but no associated sound option, try different port on the card.
     
  8. H2SO4, Jun 24, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2018

    H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #733
    Hi H9, I had the wrong end of the stick. I see what's going on now and will give it a try.......

    EDIT: Ok, something screwy is happening. I can't find the original Nvidia string in the HDAkext;
    Screen Shot 2018-06-24 at 16.41.21.jpg
    ..........so I'm going to copy that kext from a completely untouched Mac and see what I can find.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #734
    Search for the hex, not text
     
  10. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #735
    Thankyou. That now has it popped up. I'll give it a go later and see what gives.
     
  11. steenamaroo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    #736
    Just back to point out that I made a mistake in post 721, and have amended with it strikethrough.
    Instructions in that post followed again, successfully, for 10.13.5. :)
     
  12. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
  13. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #738
    Any more info?

    SIP disabled?

    Driver doesn't loaded at all?

    Which card?
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #739
    Just confirmed the exact same patch work on my RX580 as well.
    Screen Shot 2018-07-01 at 04.14.07.png Screen Shot 2018-07-01 at 04.13.39.png
     
  15. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #740
    It's an AMD Radeon HD 7970 3072 MB that works fine with HDMIAudio under High Sierra.
    The KEXT is Kext Developer signed, so SIP is ok.

    Seems to load just fine:
    $ sudo kextutil -verbose /Library/Extensions/HDMIAudio.kext
    Defaulting to kernel file '/System/Library/Kernels/kernel'
    /Library/Extensions/HDMIAudio.kext appears to be loadable (not including linkage for on-disk libraries).
    Loading /Library/Extensions/HDMIAudio.kext.
    /Library/Extensions/HDMIAudio.kext successfully loaded (or already loaded).
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #741
    So, in the PCI info page shows audio part has driver loaded, but no relevant sound option available?
     
  17. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #742
    Is it this:
    AMD Radeon HD 7970:
    Name: ATY,HamachiParent
    Type: Audio Controller
    Driver Installed: Yes
    MSI: Yes
    Bus: PCI
    Slot: Slot-1
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0xaaa0
    Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1458
    Subsystem ID: 0xaaa0
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Link Width: x16
    Link Speed: 5.0 GT/s
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #743
    Did you try another port on the card, sometimes only one port has HDMIAudio available.
     
  19. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #744
    There is only one Displayport port.
     
  20. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #745
    I have four ports available, (three DP and one HDMI), but I'm getting nothing out of any. Have all the same indications as you do from System Profiler though.

    I might wait till the .6 release and try it again then.
     
  21. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #746
    Did you patch the AppleHDAController kext yet?
     
  22. H2SO4, Jul 8, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2018

    H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #747
    I did, yes. Also reinstalled HDMI AUDIO and have SIP off. Even did the KextUtility thing too.
     
  23. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #748
    That's strange. My RX580 can still output audio even after 10.13.6 update. (Because no update on AppleHDA)
    Screen Shot 2018-07-10 at 15.34.10.png

    Anyway, I use this port to get audio after editing the AppleHDA kext.
    io-2-1.jpg
    If you can't get it, I suspect you didn't edit the AppleHDA kext correctly.
     
  24. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #749
    I'll soon find out. My plan is to update to 10.13.6 overnight. Once back at the OS, turn SIP off completely. Uninstall HDMIAudio.kext.
    Make mods to the new AppleHDA.kext, (which I'll get from a completely different machine if need be), and go from there.
     
  25. Susurs macrumors 6502a

    Susurs

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #750
    Is it still working in 10.13.6?
     

Share This Page