Guide: Install Leopard on unsupported Macs

bluestar14

macrumors newbie
Jul 5, 2009
26
0
Additional Edits

i saw another guide for resizing to SL-DVD...DON"T TRY IT, there will be a LOT more things u will have to edit in distribution;):apple:
 

islandselkie

macrumors newbie
Aug 4, 2009
1
0
I got this to work, but i had to deviate significantly from the instructions in the first post. Here's what worked for me(with no need to deal with Xar or Darwintools..blah!)

I used Disk Utility, found on every mac in Applications/Utilities, to Restore my roomie's Leopard CD onto my 16 gig flash drive(any external hard drive could be used as well, as long as they use usb or firewire)

Then I just downloaded the hacked mpkg onto my desktop from here:
http://www.broadbandreports.com/r0/...2c6f2be47c4b7280666aff6/NewOSInstall.mpkg.zip

and renamed "NewOSInstall.mpkg" to just "OSInstall.mpkg"

Then dragged that file from my desktop to my new "Leopard Install DVD" flash drive (specifically System/Installation/Packages/). It will ask you to replace the old one, to which you will say "Yes"

Reboot holding the option key and choose to boot from the flash drive and voila! All done.
Okay I'm new and a computer dummy - but I'm trying to figure out if I can install Leopard from my new Imac to my old gumdrop IMAC (1.25 ghz 1 gig ram) by using your method w/Disk Utility and copying the Leopard Installer disks onto my Lacie external HD - but the installer is on two disks - can I just put them both onto my Lacie, restore them into one desktop package then drag that using the firewire from my new IMAC to my old IMAC, reboot the old IMAC and try to install from the desktop package?

Sorry if this sounds ridiculous! The old IMAC doesn't have intel.

Thanks for any advice!

islandselkie
 

spinne1

macrumors 6502a
Okay I'm new and a computer dummy - but I'm trying to figure out if I can install Leopard from my new Imac to my old gumdrop IMAC (1.25 ghz 1 gig ram) by using your method w/Disk Utility and copying the Leopard Installer disks onto my Lacie external HD - but the installer is on two disks - can I just put them both onto my Lacie, restore them into one desktop package then drag that using the firewire from my new IMAC to my old IMAC, reboot the old IMAC and try to install from the desktop package?

Sorry if this sounds ridiculous! The old IMAC doesn't have intel.

Thanks for any advice!

islandselkie
Leopard can be installed on either PowerPC or Intel (unless you have an Intel only version--I don't know if they exist.) Just put in your install disk and boot from it and try to install it.
 

dollabills

macrumors newbie
Jan 28, 2010
10
0
i know this is like 2 years old so no one might reply,
but would this work with the grey restore non-retail dvds from a new imac onto a g4?
thanks
 

kleong

macrumors newbie
Jun 20, 2010
1
0
I have create an osinstall.mpkg according to the guide. I have change the frequency to both return true and to a figure lower. However, when I tried to install, I still get the invalid front bus frequency 660000. Any idea what more should I do?
 

kabeer

macrumors newbie
Jul 23, 2010
13
0
Kernel panic on install

Okay, I have a power mac g4 sawtooth single CPU. I purchased a leopard install disk for the cheapest I could find without realising that it wasn't supported on this machine officially (I didn't get snow leopard because I knew that it only supported intel). So I inserted the disk (without modifying) and after booting to it got a kernel panic beginning with "the correct driver could not be found for this platform powermac 3,1". I then tried the open firmware hack many times and the same problem occured. I also tried this guide many times even with putting in the kexts that the guide told me to if I was getting kernel panics but to no avail. I then managed to borrow my freinds intel mac and installed it to my guid partitioned 16 gb flash drive, I then cloned it to my APM partitioned other hard disk using superduper! and when booting got the same issue, I then put in the relevant kexts from the working tiger install but again to no avail
any advice is appreciated,
thanks
Kabeer
 

dsilver668

macrumors newbie
Apr 28, 2011
1
0
Recent Update "See Comments After Original Post"

Ok I was going through this tut! Thank you for the original post.
I did a couple of things different. This was to install VER: 10.6.3 which with updates should put you at 10.6.6 or 10.6.7.
Symptoms:
I modified the original lines in his tut but it still failed. After many disks and pain and suffering I decided to put on my programmers cap and go through the ".mpkg" file.
fist thing I did was change all false statements to equal true minus the one about unsupported systems. If your system is one of those simply remove it.
Now scroll down a bit. Ok a lot!
There is this little section about supported systems and you will see lines like
'MacBookPro5,1',
In that section be sure to add your MacBook model. If you don't know boot your system off the DVD yes I know you can't install it but you can use the system profiler and get the model number.
Then wrap up the package again and you can then burn.
I personally used Carbon Copy Clone otherwise known as CCC.
I actually used it to "burn" the dmg file to a USB Hard Drive. My understanding is you can also do this to USB Flash drives as well. Imagine having a USB flash drive with all your MAC Models supported! It is awesome!!!!
If you are in vi just do a search in the mpkg file "/'MacBookPro" and you will find it. It is the only file you need to modify. As newer models arrive, you can update your OS install drive fairly easily.

Hope this helps!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

2040Tech

macrumors newbie
Jun 21, 2011
3
0
Well I have 30 machines, a load of settings, and applications to push. :rolleyes:

I'm going to pick the image. :D

23 GB in 12 minutes.
Have you ever tried setting up a NetBoot Server with Mac OS X 10.5 Server I have one setup and its quick and fast also multiple machines can use it at once!!!! Try it, Apple is so smart
Heres a picture of a Mac OS X 10.5 Unsupported Disk Image made from this guide being turned into a NetInstall Image (Imaged)
http://cdn2.dailybooth.com/10/pictures/large/441c7639060314fb2a867b82e74335a1_16808489.jpg
 
Last edited:

DerekMessina

macrumors newbie
Nov 23, 2011
1
0
Awesome! Now I can install leopard on my Mac by myself. I hope it works. Thanks for the tip! It was a big help...
 

Nanashi106

macrumors newbie
Dec 23, 2011
1
0
I've got a ver sick problem in step 3. You wrote, that there is a problem with the xar files, but terminal meant that there's everthing okay. It just doesn't work... Help me please!:confused::confused:

P.S: I hope it's going to work in the end. :)
 

minifridge1138

macrumors 65816
Jun 26, 2010
1,106
154
I had no problem building the image, and creating a boot-able USB drive.

I hold option, boot from USB.

I get the grey Apple Logo for a long time (30 minutes maybe).

Then I get a grey screen with a beachball mouse cursor. It stays that way for 5 hours. Then I gave up and shut it down.

Is 5 hours normal?
 

Mizino

macrumors newbie
Mar 10, 2016
5
0
So I'm running into a different problem... I have a quicksilver (non 2002 model) that I've thrown a 9600 into, and it works and runs fine, save for the dead drives I bought it with. I installed a new IDE 20 gig drive that I am pretty certain works, and I'm trying to get the thing to boot into the leopard install disk. But something is odd. Without the updated file from here, the machine sits at a blue screen with a moveable mouse. It never gets farther than that. Now the machine has a 1.5 gighertz proc from OWC, so normally I'd consider the machine fully capable of running Leopard. I did try using a supported Mac installing to a GUID partitioned thumb drive, then mounting the quicksilver in target mode and using CCC to make a duplicate of the thumb drive in the Apple Partition scheme. It does the same thing, or it will kernal panic, or it will sit at the grey mac screen with the little pin wheel going around and around. I'm going to try and do it this way, with the modified installer file and a key drive. But I'm not experiencing the "This system is not supported" kinda thing from the installer so I don't know if that will work.

I have 1.2 gigs of ram, 20 gig hard drive, 1.5 gighertz g4, and a...Thats something I hadn't thought of...Maybe I don't have a DL superdrive? just a regular single, and thus it can't read the installer? Hence the hang? Maybe. I'm going to start working off the thumb drive now anyway.

Anyone have any other ideas?
 

Jack Neill

macrumors 6502a
Sep 13, 2015
819
571
San Antonio Texas
So I'm running into a different problem... I have a quicksilver (non 2002 model) that I've thrown a 9600 into, and it works and runs fine, save for the dead drives I bought it with. I installed a new IDE 20 gig drive that I am pretty certain works, and I'm trying to get the thing to boot into the leopard install disk. But something is odd. Without the updated file from here, the machine sits at a blue screen with a moveable mouse. It never gets farther than that. Now the machine has a 1.5 gighertz proc from OWC, so normally I'd consider the machine fully capable of running Leopard. I did try using a supported Mac installing to a GUID partitioned thumb drive, then mounting the quicksilver in target mode and using CCC to make a duplicate of the thumb drive in the Apple Partition scheme. It does the same thing, or it will kernal panic, or it will sit at the grey mac screen with the little pin wheel going around and around. I'm going to try and do it this way, with the modified installer file and a key drive. But I'm not experiencing the "This system is not supported" kinda thing from the installer so I don't know if that will work.

I have 1.2 gigs of ram, 20 gig hard drive, 1.5 gighertz g4, and a...Thats something I hadn't thought of...Maybe I don't have a DL superdrive? just a regular single, and thus it can't read the installer? Hence the hang? Maybe. I'm going to start working off the thumb drive now anyway.

Anyone have any other ideas?
Have you tried LeopardAssist or any of the other old tools?
 

Mizino

macrumors newbie
Mar 10, 2016
5
0
Have you tried LeopardAssist or any of the other old tools?
I figured the issue out. It was the fact that I was using a ATI radeon 9600, which Mac's KEXT's have issues with. I'm going to replace it and it should work fine.
 

Mizino

macrumors newbie
Mar 10, 2016
5
0
I figured the issue out. It was the fact that I was using a ATI radeon 9600, which Mac's KEXT's have issues with. I'm going to replace it and it should work fine.

I actually found out even more, that it was the way I taped up the pins 3 and 11 that was causing the problem I taped up both sides when you are supposed to only tape the back...interesting enough the card will work like that.
 

christiann

macrumors regular
Jun 7, 2020
163
42
Laguna Beach, California
Things you will need
  • A Mac
  • Decent DVD burner, DL is best
  • A clean Leopard disc or official dmg
  • A decent image manipulator, Carbon Copy Cloner or disc utility
  • Darwin Ports with xar installed, if running Tiger or below. Don't need this if running Leopard.
  • Terminal knowledge, helps, but I will give commands too. Mainly don't be afraid to do some things manually.
  • Patience

Step 1: Setup
In 10.5 Apple has changed their package type to xar, unfortunately it is not built into Tiger. Luckily an opensource app called Darwin Ports, has ports of all sorts of open source things. I will detail this section more later for those having trouble. I ran into a problem, but I don't remember how I solved it, basically the package update wouldn't run. If someone runs into it, I will let them know how to fix it. (This turned out to be the C compiler)

Install Darwin Ports. Installation instructions are on the page after you download.
  • Download from here: http://darwinports.com/download/
  • Run the installer
  • I found that a restart was good at this point
  • Run terminal and type the following
    Code:
    sudo port -d selfupdate
  • The darwin ports install should be complete now.

*NOTES* If you get the following error: "no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH," this is because you have no compiler. This is the issue I ran into and I realized I hadn't installed XCODE on this Mac. I have the disk from my developer tools so I installed it from there. You can also get it here: Developer Tools

Next you will need to install xar, the installation instructions are on the linked page.
  • If everything went well with the DarwinPorts installation continue with this
  • In Terminal type
    Code:
    sudo port install xar
  • Depending on the speed of the Mac this may take some time since it needs to get the dependencies and compile
  • If everything goes without error you have successfully installed XAR
There is a report that the new XCODE includes Xar. I did not find this to be true in my test. I will talk with Tupring to get a description on that process. For now, I recommend this method, at least until I can do further testing.

Also, install Carbon Copy Cloner, you can get this here. CCC

Now you are ready for the fun, assuming everything is working!

Step 2: Make a new image
Use your disc or dmg to create a sparse image, this will maintain the disc contents with block level copying, it will also make your image write-able. Use Carbon Copy Cloner to make the sparse image. Carbon Copy Cloner is pretty straight forward, on the left side choose "Restore from disk image" and on the right choose "New disk image." You will get a dialog select the location for the image and give it a name. Further be sure to select the read and write option. Then run the clone. CCC is actually heaps faster than FreeDMG anyhow.

Now, once you have the new dmg. Get info on it, expand the Ownership and Permission section and be sure to set yourself up to have read and write access. (you will need to authenticate with the lock).

This process worked like a charm for me when I tested it on 10-26-2007. This is one of the definite routes to take. See the following to get an idea of what I sorta know. I apologize for not being able to test every option and honestly when I made the guide i had fumbled through the whole process myself. I reinstalled Tiger however to make this guide better. :)

This relates to number 6, which I know some people have had trouble with. I did too, and tons of it. To be honest, I don't remember the exact way I ended up doing it. I am testing out better methods to make this work better. Here are some things I know and don't know.

1. FreeDMG does not work for doing this.
2. CCC may work for doing this, it is also faster
3. Burning the original DMG to disk and using diskutil to make a read-write image may work as well, it would be nice to cut out the burning step.
4. Not also that Diskutil has a converting option. In my tests this did not work, however it could have been my source DMG.

I will stress here the idea of having a clean DMG/Disk. If you have a Leopard disk, I strongly advise creating an image from it in diskutil or possibly CCC.

Step 3: Bust it open!
If you are good with terminal, copy the following file from the mounted image (/System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mpkg somewhere so you can work on it (Desktop works well), for those not so good, you can use this terminal command which is useful anyway! I have found that depending on the build version or dmg you have, it may or may not show the folders. If it does show it, you don't have to do this next step.

Code:
defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles True
Followed by
Code:
Killall Finder
This will show all hidden files. To change it back, simply change the value to False and kill the Finder. Now, go into to the DMG, you should see some new stuff in there. You want to navigate to /System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mpkg, copy this file to the desktop.

Now create a folder called package on the Desktop. Fire up terminal again, navigate to the package folder. You should be at the home directory by default so you can type the following:

Code:
cd desktop/package
Now comes the fun part. Type the following:
Code:
xar -x -v -f ~/Desktop/OSInstall.mpkg
If this fails, there is a problem with your xar installation. I will work with you to troubleshoot this. If it works you should see some files being extracted to the package folder. Great!

Step 4: Hack that code!
Now, if you made it here we are getting close. Now, go into the package folder you made. You should see a file called Distribution. Good, back it up somewhere and then open the original with Textedit. You should now see some wonderful code. You want to pay attention to this part of the script (changed to GM version):

Code:
 var minRam = 512;

    function checkSupportedMachine(machineType){
        // Fail on G3
        if (1 != system.sysctl('hw.vectorunit') ) {
            return false;
        }

        var badMachines = ['MacBook3,1','iMac','PowerBook1,1','PowerBook2,1', 'AAPL,Gossamer', 'AAPL,PowerMac G3', 'AAPL,PowerBook1998', 'AAPL,PowerBook1999'];
       
        if(machineType){
            var length = badMachines.length;
           
            // Fail if any of the compatible values match the list of badMachines
            for( var j = 0; j < length; j++ ){
                if(machineType == badMachines[j]){
                        return false;
                }

            }
           
        }
   
        // require 867Mhz+
        if (system.sysctl("hw.cpufrequency") < 866000000) {
            return false;   
        }
           
        return true;
    }
Now, you can probably see where you need to make edits. First take a look at the G3 section. You can simply change it to return true, if you need to install on a G3. It has been said that you still can't install on a G3, I have no way to test this at the moment. I have to wonder though, why even add a section about G3s if it was just not an option (as in you couldn't even boot the disk as some have said). Same goes for the badMachines section. Or you can also simply remove the "bad machines" you have.

Now comes the cpu speed.

Code:
if (system.sysctl("hw.cpufrequency") < xxx000000) {
return false;
Where 'xxx' is the minimum processor speed. I have a DP 500 (which makes no difference, it is still seen at 500Mhz), so I changed mine to 499. I don't think you will gain any advantage by dropping it lower than the speed you need, other than having a disc that can be used on any Mac if you drop it to say, 0Mhz, although I would do 1Mhz as 0 may cause a problem.

Simple changing the false to a true will also work here. And is probably a more elegant solution throughout. I actually think removing the entire section would be the best solution. However, I have not tested this theory. My concern is that something else is there to be sure these things have returned values. Until we get a test on this, I am more inclined to say the section should remain in place, but simply be edited.

You can also edit the RAM and anything else really. Just be sure what you are doing will help you in some way ;)

Now, save the document and exit textedit.

Step 5: Wrap it up
Now we are going to reverse the step 3 by repackaging the altered contents. Hop back into terminal and type the following:

Code:
xar -c ./ -v -f ~/Desktop/NewOSInstall.mpkg
And just like that, you should have a new package on your desktop.

Step 6: New mpkg placement
Now that we have a new mpkg, navigate back to the /System/Installation/Packages folder. Rename the old OSInstall.mpkg, I usually do OSInstall.mpkg.old, Finder will ask if you want to append the new extension, say yes. Now, drop in the NewOSInstall.mpkg, rename it to OSInstall.mpkg.

You now have a disc image ready.

I know there have been some problems with this. Admittedly I also had a big problem with this part. My solution was to burn the dmg to DVD, then rip it back. Again, I also think this is largely related to the integrity of the original image you are working with. If you are working with a torrent or slightly modified image, it won't work so well. If you are working with a clean image and or ripping from DVD, the sparseimage should work flawlessly (pending you set permission properly). I am in the process of making this an easier and more clear process.

Step 7: Resizing the image for SL-DVD (optional)
Coming soon!

Step 8: Burn it baby!
Now it is time to burn the image to a DVD. You can do one of two things, burn the sparseimage or make a read only cd master out of the image. I originally made a cdr image, but that didn't work too well. Burning the sparseimage worked best for me. Your mileage may vary. Note though, my DVD burner is a max 4x. (EDIT: I got a new burner, 20x woot!) Anyhow, try the sparseimage out, if that doesn't work try to make a read only image.

You can use diskutil to burn the image.

Step 9: The true test
Now you have the DVD. Lets boot it up. You will know right away whether or not it worked. You will get the message right away. If so, you possibly made a mistake somewhere. Once you get to actual menu to install Leopard you are home free!

Some have been getting kernel panics when the disk is loading, here is what some have said will work.

Add:
AppleCore99PE.kext
AppleMLANAudio.kext

Replace:
AppleMPIC.kext
ApplePMU.kext

When I get the GM, I will be sure to see what happens on mine without changing the kexts. Power Mac G4, DP 500, Gigabit.

Edits to come:
  • Screen shots
  • More detailed terminal commands
  • Troubleshooting tips
  • I will turn this into a printable PDF with screenshots in the coming week(s)
  • Resizing for SL-DVD

Have fun!
Is this going to be slow?
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.