[Guide] Success! Install 10.8 on old unsupported Mac

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by hackerwayne, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #51
    Well.. true, but heres some pics, need to troubleshoot where the problem comes from and what the xxxx is KernalCL plugin :mad: [​IMG]

    Im using a PC unflashed HD6870 with upgraded 8 core clovertown processor. Both of these works 100% fine but wont be detected properly.. (same goes to Lion) but they work fine in Lion.

    More pics:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. ayilm1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    #52
    That's strange, are the device IDs detected and if so, do they belong to the 6870? I have the same card running in a hackintosh. But then again, it's not a re-flashed model. I'm just unpacking some of the .pkgs to see if I can dig out the PlatformSupport.plist to edit it.
     
  3. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #53
    No, it has nothing to do with the upgraded graphics card.. Im having the same problem on my MacBook White 2008 with X3100..
     
  4. ayilm1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    #54
    No worries, my macbook has the same issue. I just assumed the 6870 thing was pre existing since you said the same thing happened in 10.7.
     
  5. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #55
    Just to make it clear, both the cards and the processor are not properly identified - Processor - 2x Unknown 2.66GHz and graphics card - AMD HD 6xxx 1024MB. But they work fine, just not identified. I can simply just change the values in About This Mac and problem is solved. I have never heard of CL_Kernals plugin, and it has never crashed in Lion before, so yeah, we're missing something here :(
     
  6. ayilm1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    #56
    That's because it wasn't there in Lion. If it was, we would have found some mention of it through a quick google search. The worse part is I've sifted through all the bundles in /S/L/E and there is no mention of it anywhere.

    EDIT: Scratch that, it was there in Lion. I was searching for CL_Kernel not kernels
     
  7. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #57
    Yup, google search brings up nothing, but so far, Finder works but the top bar doesnt, if you try to click anything on the top bar, it will crash Finder. Same thing goes to Activity Monitor, System Preferences, Safari etc.

    I still suspect its the launchd, and why it doesnt happen to the GMA950 MacBook :(
     
  8. ayilm1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    #58
    Same on my end. What if we look at it literally. I mean, Finder and other apps only crash when interacted with. The machine doesn't kernel panic randomly or anything. So what if it has something to do with how things are rendered. Namely, OpenCL?
     
  9. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #59
    Hmm.. that reminds me of the GMA950 doesnt support the new OpenGL and OpenCL which explains why it doesnt crash. As far as i know, GMA950 only supports old OpenGL.. But i still don't understand why a 6870 and x3100 can have problem with OpenCL

    ----------

    Anyway, have you installed the required kext on your MacBook? the x3100, if no, please try to install it via kexthelper.
     
  10. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #60
    I think there must be some kind of indentifier in the OpenCL plugin..
     
  11. ayilm1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    #61
    Ok so some progress. I still can't get HW acceleration or kexts to load for my GMA 950 (Not the x3100 to clarify). But I have managed to repack the OSInstall.mpkg to add the relevant machine IDs during installation. Trouble is, the initial install screen still says that OS X cannot be installed on this machine. Still need to find a fix for that. But once it passes that, the installer should be able to create a natively bootable installation.
     
  12. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #62
    To get GMA950 acceleration, you need to install 3 files, AppleIntelGMA950.kext, AppleIntelGMA950VADriver.bundle, AppleIntelGMA950VLDriver.bundle copy the bundle into System/Library/Extensions and use kexthelper to install the kexts

    EDIT: use kext from 10.7.0 not 10.7.3
     
  13. ayilm1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    #63
    Ahhh ok I did everything up to 10.7.0. I installed the 10.7.3 ones instead. Just trying to repack the payload to deploy it back into the .pkg. Not having much luck...
     
  14. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #65
  15. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #66
    This thread title and its content sure don't match. From the title, it said "Success" and "Fully working" and from the content, it says "It boots!" and "a lot of stuff doesn't work and crash!". :p
     
  16. karsten macrumors 6502a

    karsten

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #67
    did you also edit the distribution file to add 64bit return true and add your board id? i can get the installer to start but it hangs on a 'checking (null) ...' dialog box
     
  17. AnonMac50 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #68
    Maybe it's with different parts?
     
  18. Mac Tech Aaron macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #69
    10.8 crashing on MacPro

    A few weeks ago, I flashed my 2006 Mac Pro from 1,1 to 2,1. Today I tried to get ML installed onto the MacPro. It boots to the ML desktop, but the finder is constantly crashing. I can not open any HD mounted on the desktop, can not get to the finder, can not launch applications without the desktop disappearing and then coming back with a error message asking if I want to restore the last window. Crash report that comes up saying it's crashed 776 times.

    What am I doing wrong? :mad: Is there something else I need to do? :confused:
     
  19. stewacide macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    #70
    I'm guessing there's some pervasive OpenCL use that's going on that is crashing unsupported systems.
     
  20. wesker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #71
    This is great news. Let's hope it works when the final OS is released! :D :cool:
     
  21. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #73
    Copy the kext without an additional tool, then (in a Terminal window):
    Code:
    sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions/YourKernelExtensionName.kext
    (sets correct owner:group)

    and

    Code:
    sudo chmod -R 444 /System/Library/Extensions/YourKernelExtensionName.kext
    (tells ML, that he should not delete this kext)

    and

    Code:
    sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions/
    (tells ML, that he should update his kernel caches)

    Restart your Mac! I hope this works for you!
     
  22. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #74
    We were testing it on a MacBook White with GMA950, and that, works perfectly fine

    ----------

    The problem have been solved in the previous posts. Right now, we're experiencing unexpected crash on Macs other then the ones that uses the GMA950

    ----------

    If you are using a Mac Pro, upgrade your graphics card to at least HD2600 or GT210.. that will work, if its a MacBook, just follow my method above to install the required kext.

    ----------

    As i said on previous post, it works perfectly fine with Macs that used GMA950.. Titles says on MacBook White, as i only tested it on that Mac, the rest of the Macs that uses X3100, ati x1600 etc etc is having problems
     
  23. johncluley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #75
    Tried Kexthelper to get video Kexts for x1600 on a white c2d iMac. Kernel panic on start up etc. hosed everything and restored lion from time machine.

    Now installing ML on a separate partition using the app directly from lion. No DVD or USB required with the image.

    Will then try the manual kext move then terminal and see how I go.

     

Share This Page