[Guide] Success! Install 10.8 on old unsupported Mac

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by hackerwayne, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #126
    On a side note... I was browsing Apple's dev area and found this

    So according to Apple, Mac OS X 10.8 server would run supported on more Macs than 10.8 client.... hmmm?

    1. February 16, 2012 11:13PM UTC

    OS X Mountain Lion Seed
    Server Release Notes

    Minimum System Requirements

    You can install this version of Server on any Macintosh server or desktop computer with:
    • An Intel Core 2 Duo, i5, i7 or Xeon processor
    • At least 2GB of RAM
    • At least 20GB of available disk space

    [​IMG]
     
  2. coolio2004 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #127
    One big problem remains with my late 2007 MB3.1 and X3100. I can see all my shares but i can`t use smb nor afp but Itunes brings me my shares on my Qnap 219p+ NAS. Any suggestions are wellcome.
     
  3. ciacorp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    #128
    Sounds VERY interesting, thank you! Does somebody know why the server version is apparently compatible to more macs?
     
  4. weckart macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #129
    If ML Server is anything like Lion Server, then it is just the server elements installed on top of the client as an optional paid for package. You need to install the client first. That will be your first problem.

    Not holding my breath.
     
  5. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #130
    I don't get why the would write different system requirements if they weren't followed :confused: also it doesn't list i3 support which some iMacs had



    To install Server, please follow the directions below:
    • Launch Disk Utility.app from /Applications/Utilities/
    • Target a disk/partition for installing this seed build and select to erase the
    volume.
    • Once erased, download "OS X Mountain Lion Developer Preview" from the
    Mac App Store
    • Select the erased disk/partition as the target install destination and install
    the OS X Mountain Lion Developer Preview
    • From your OS X Mountain Lion Developer Preview, download “Server
    Developer Preview” from the Mac App Store and launch from Launchpad to install.
     
  6. ciacorp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    #131
    Maybe someone who is Dev could try it out ;-) Server version sounds quite promising...
     
  7. weckart macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #132
    See the bit that I bolded? Now try that on a Mac that is not officially supported by Mountain Lion. Now do you see the problem?

    The process is identical to that of Lion Server.
     
  8. Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #133
    So they messed up. Minimum requirements had to include "Mountain Lion installed" or something similar.
     
  9. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #134
    Well.. SOME C2D are supported.. Only those that shipped with 64bit kernel. I don't think this will have any different from the client version since server version is installed on top of the client version.

    ----------

    Someone in another thread manage to boot into 64bit kernel on a MacBook3,1/ MacBook White 2007 with X3100

    ----------

    Thanks for the update, i will add the board IDs into the plist file. The plist file are directly extracted from Lion and has not been modified in anyway.. Which is why the core duo Macs ID are not included.

    ----------

    Im a dev and i can confirm that doesn't work. The server version installs on top of the client version. So you still need to modify the client installer.
     
  10. Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #135
    With no EFI64? How's that possible? using Chameleon as if it was an hackintosh? Do you have a link to the thread?
     
  11. coolio2004 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #136
  12. Michelasso, Feb 26, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012

    Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #137
    All right, thanks. I actually tried with the Mountain Lion installation in my external USB disc, with no kexts since I have the GMA 950 (and I don't think it will work with the 64 bits kernel). Still it gets stuck at "Waiting for DSMOS". It does show some 64 bits numbers in the verbose boot. Also there is a line "kernel is LP64 (I think)". But it just stops waiting at that line. Maybe a Yukon message appeared after few minutes. But the disc doesn't seem moving.

    PS: Right now I am in ML 32 bits. With the kexts installed. So it does run on my machine.

    EDIT: "Waiting for DSMOS" using Lion as well. Obviously I installed the Lion patch. Is there any chance to get instructions about how to patch the EFI?
     
  13. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #138
    Im working a new way to force 32bit kext to load... Was quite bz for the past few days..
     
  14. Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #139
    I am actually waiting for ML DP2. Running ML in a virtual machine (it does boot with 64 bits) the graphics is glitchy. But sure, that should be an issue with the virtual machine kexts. Still i want to see what it is the real Apple plan with our unsupported 64 bits machine (I still can't digest this. Apple can well forget about my money. Next time it will be an Hackintosh).
     
  15. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #140
    :eek:fftopic: Im a long hackintosh fan before entering to the real Mac world.. Hackintosh is nothing comparing to the lousiest intel Mac.. Its just too much hassle. From installation to updating it then to newer OSes.. Its not worth it unless you have bunch of time to spent.
     
  16. Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #141
    Is it so bad? I wonder why no one makes any MacBook clone. The components are pretty standard anyway. There wouldn't be any copyright infringement. Only the EULA but that would be up to the user.
     
  17. Embio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #142
    64bit kernel in DP2... I think that means we're done here :-(

    unless someone can port the 64bit linux gma950 drivers
     
  18. Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #143
    64 bits *only*? That would suck!
     
  19. Embio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #144
    As far as I can see that's the case.... I'll install it later and see.
     
  20. madmacfan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #145
    Ok folks, I have modded the GMA X3100 64 bit patch I made for 10.7.3 to work with 10.8 DP1. This should also work with those already on DP2, but I haven't tested it with DP2 yet, will do this evening when I upgrade from DP1

    GMA X3100 mod.bs file is here

    GMA X3100 64 bit patch for 10.8 DP1 is here .right click and select download linked file. Open with terminal, type in your system password, reboot and you're good to go.
     
  21. Embio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #146
    Has anyone tried the gma950 driver from 10.6.2?
     
  22. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #147
    DP2 KPed immediately after boot.. 32bit kernel is no longer available. But i have another solution :). Download the latest ML Chamaleon (hackintosh bootloader) then boot mountain lion via chameleon. Tested it myself on Mountain Lion DP2
     
  23. madmacfan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #148
    Hi there. I've not yet upgraded to DP2 yet, been working on another patch. Did you install DP2 as an update to DP1 or as a clean install?. i"m going to try installing this over DP1 with the 64 bit patch installed and see how I get on. If all else fails then I'll use the chameleon method. thanks
     
  24. Embio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #149
    hakerwayne - the problem is drivers for the GMA950... but your right, that will boot it
     
  25. madmacfan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #150
    Yes I did this on a friends macbook 2,1 and it was extremely buggy. The only resolution available with that driver is 1024x768 and as a result it doesn't work particularly well with Lion.
     

Share This Page