Guitar Hero 3

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Pressure, Mar 3, 2008.

  1. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    Anyone got Aspyr's ported version of Guitar Hero 3 for Mac?

    How is the performance? I don't have high hopes seeing on Aspyr's track record but we may be lucky.
     
  2. aosman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #2
    I watched some guys play it at the Apple Store; seemed just like the PS3 Version.
     
  3. zmunkz macrumors 6502a

    zmunkz

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #3
    I have it... it plays great. No problems at all.
     
  4. Pressure thread starter macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    Sounds good, I am considering getting it.

    Mind telling me what you were playing it on? MacBook Pro, iMac or Mac Pro ;)
     
  5. marclapierre13 macrumors 6502a

    marclapierre13

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #5
    I bought it. I love it. Dont play it that often, because of time constraints, but when i do, i rock out hard:cool:
    Great game, lots of fun to be had. I have it hooked up to the plasma tv when i do it.
     
  6. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #6
    I would be curious to know as well. I've heard it runs sub par on anything less than a Mac Pro.

    jon
     
  7. nintyuser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #7
    I have on my Macbook pro. It's 2.16 first merom revision with 128mb ati graphics. Boot Camp 2.0 Win XP

    It's runs decent since it's ported directly from the code of the 360 version.

    On the highest settings in windows it runs fine. It can be a little sluggish but it runs fine. On medium(less crowd and less lighting effects) settings pretty smooth.

    Also you can put customs songs in on the windows version but it's a little difficult.

    http://www.scorehero.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=45322

    Sadly though i haven't tried on in os x. I wish I had better xcode skills to port that editor program or make one for the mac gh3 for custom songs. Since it would be amazing :cool:
     
  8. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #8
    I thought GH3 on computer was a dual release disk with both Windows and Mac version on it. If it is why haven't you tried it on the Mac yet.

    jon
     
  9. jakebrake3202 macrumors newbie

    jakebrake3202

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    #9
    I assume it plugs into USB? or is there any way to make the guitar wireless?
     
  10. Pressure thread starter macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #10
    Unfortunately it isn't.

    It is ported by Aspyr to Mac OS X.
     
  11. Smallville macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    #11
    I bought GH3 this weekend for my iMac. It plays pretty well, but I have a question.

    While playing, certain "scenes" will cause the fretboard to lag, and I miss many notes. I've tried adjustments to the audio and visual lag, but this mostly happens during those 15-second spots when a graphics/animation heavy displays the crowd or some kind of close up.

    I only have the standard 1 GB of RAM. Would adding another GB stick help? Or is this because I have a certain kind of graphics card and there's not much to do about that?
     
  12. Pressure thread starter macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #12
    Let me get this straight, Aspyr is producing both the Mac and PC version?

    So I can use the install DVD on both a Mac and PC or is it two seperate SKU's, one for Mac and one for PC?
     
  13. Smallville macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    #13
    One box, one guitar, one disc, two operating systems. When you walk into the store and ask for the PC/Mac Guitar Hero 3, the box has in big letters PC and Mac.

    The disc inside has the Windows logo and Mac logo.

    But the guitar is an Xplorer with an Xbox logo.

    $80.

    (It also comes with three sheets of stickers, if that helps.)
     
  14. Rickster84 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #14
    I know what you mean. In regard to your question on adding more memory, I'll tell you that I'm running guitar hero III on my iMac 2.4 GHz with 4GB of RAM, and I STILL get the visual lag...:rolleyes:
     
  15. ebel3003 macrumors 6502a

    ebel3003

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    "The Google"
    #15

    You can edit the files on the Windows site and then replace the files on the Mac side. I'm running GH3 Mac with customs. Unfortunately it doesn't run very well on my Dell 2407wfp at 1920x1200. I'll stick to the console versions.
     
  16. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #16
    Unfortunately any lag is unacceptable for this game on any Mac. This is nothing more than another bad port for the Mac.

    jon
     
  17. SHOlover macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    So Cal
    #17
    I have a Mac Pro Ocho with 6 gigs of ram and it still lags occationally. The loading times are less than a second, though...crazy. Does anyone know when we can download songs? I went online and it says "coming soon" The whole reason I got GH3 for MAC is to download songs...:mad:
     
  18. nintyuser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #18
    I got my gh3 for Windows when it came out. There was only the windows version at the time.

    Then a couple weeks afterward the dual disc was put out that had both the mac port and the windows on the same disc.
     
  19. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #19
    You can make it wireless by using a wireless 360 controller, the 360 wireless adapter and a driver which I've forgotten where you get it.
     
  20. devman macrumors 65816

    devman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    AU
    #20
  21. sonofmof macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  22. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #22
  23. charliehorse55 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #23
    I realize that I am probably bumping a very old thread.

    Anyways...

    To anyone complaining about FPS, look here:

    Guitar Hero 3 Speed Booster

    It's an app I wrote a little while ago when my macbook wouldn't run GH3.

    Keep in mind this app does not work with GH3 1.3, as they changed the background image format.

    Also, anyone interested in customs on mac, look here: How To PLAY Customs Songs on a Mac
     
  24. BrownPlopz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Behind you, I'm your shadow...
    #24
    Has there been any news on MaXKiller's OS X application that allows Mac users to add / play custom songs without the whole Windows part yet?
     
  25. charliehorse55 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #25
    Yes. It should be out by the end of August or sooner. :D
     

Share This Page