Handbrake Problem - Incomplete DVD Rip

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Greg_C, Nov 25, 2007.

  1. Greg_C macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I'm hoping someone here might have encountered this issue before and have some kind of a workaround or solution...I've attempted to rip Rocky Balboa (a DVD I own) using Handbrake. It detects all of the titles (for some reason there are 99!) and automatically selects the right one, which shows as 1 hour 42 minutes. Also, all the chapters are selected (1 through 28) However, when I try to rip it, the resulting file is only about 3 minutes long - it's just the very beginning. :confused: Any ideas?
     
  2. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #2
    Start with chapter 2 instead of chapter 1 and try it again. You are encountering DRM on the DVD, I figure we may have to wait for a new version of Handbrake before we can stop worrying about.
     
  3. cuestakid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    San Fran
    #3
    many people are experiencing the same issue with Ratatouille
     
  4. Greg_C thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Well I tried what TheStu recommended, and it worked...The only problem is I now have a movie that starts several minutes from the actual beginning :( Thanks for the suggestion, hopefully a future Handbrake update can fix this. In the meantime, if anyone else has found a way around this please let us know.
     
  5. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #5
    Always rip with Mac the Ripper and encode with Handbrake. Even the Handbrake forum recommends this approach. Mac the Ripper is much more robust when it comes to ripping DVDs.
     
  6. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #6
    Not only because Mac The Ripper is specialised on ripping DVDs and nothing else and therefore is better at it, but it has other advantages. Less wear on your DVD drive, especially with two pass encoding. And you can rip half a dozen DVDs and queue them up for overnight compression in Handbrake.
     
  7. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #7
    but i believe it wouldn't be able to rip that certain dvd. basically all dvds produced by Sony (newer ones). i think you'll have to do it with handbrake and miss the beginning
     
  8. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #8
    Have you tried it? Mac the Ripper (at least version 3+) has been able to rip every single DVD I have thrown at it.
     
  9. julianps macrumors member

    julianps

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #9
    Covered

    Greg C,

    This issue and the solution is covered here;

    http://handbrake.m0k.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=266

    Fairmount does a good job whilst DVD2OneX is supposed to address the whole ZERO Cell issue head-on.

    MTR2 will apparently not solve as only MTR3 handles ZEROP Cells.

    JiF
     
  10. Greg_C thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Update

    Thanks to everyone for all of the info and suggestions. Unfortunately, DVD2oneX wasn't able to rip the VIDEO_TS folder because it detected encryption. (It also crashed several times when I attempted to open the DVD, but that seems beside the point now.) :( I'm having a hard time finding MacTheRipper 3, any tips? Thanks again for the continued help.
     
  11. julianps macrumors member

    julianps

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #11
    Finding a copy of MTR3 is like hunting for hen's teeth... I guess there's a good reason for that :eek:

    Greg C; did you, as suggested in the forum, get a copy of Fairmount? Launch FM, allow it mount the DVD as a volume and rip from the volume rather than the DVD. The thread suggests that this is your highest chance of success.

    On the other hand ripping that particular disc appears to be a hobby in itself...;-)
     
  12. Greg_C thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    I've done some more searching for MTR 3and I have to agree. I missed the part about FairMount, that looks promising. I appreciate all the help, but if that doesn't work than it's not a big deal if I can't get the latest Rocky on my iPod. Well said by Julian! Thanks again to everyone.
     
  13. Draddy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    #13
  14. julianps macrumors member

    julianps

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #14
    divSHARE

    ..and how are you with "needles in haystacks"...:D:D

    Good find Draddy...thanks

    JiF
     
  15. Draddy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    #15
    12.4 seconds flat :D
     
  16. jazzician macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    #16
    Handbrake issues

    I had problems with Handbrake crapping out early. I had an earlier version and I updated and there was some problem with the upgrade. I threw away the whole thing and downloaded the whole newest version and I works great for me.
     

Share This Page