Handbrake - What is the highest resolution you can rip?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by -Josh-, Nov 18, 2007.

  1. -Josh- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #1
    I ripped a DVD using Handbreak's default settings. The picture was horrible. I followed up doing another episode on AVI - I think it looks better.

    Is AVI better than Mp4? What's the best one to select?


    Thanks,

    Josh
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    I've used it countless times - mostly for :apple:tv. It always is very close to the original DVD.

    There are presets for many target devices, so I'm not sure what "default" you're referring to.

    Check the bit rate and frame rate - it sounds like one or both are low.
     
  3. -Josh- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #3
    Oh, so you use Mp4?

    They're fine, it says, (Same as source) Hmm.
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    They're MP4, using H-264 encoding. They end up around 2500kbps, 24fps,
     
  5. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #5
    It really does matter what default preset you are using. I like Normal, it produces an acceptable quality in my opinion. But if you, for example, chose iPod.... then of course it will look like crap when full screened.
     
  6. -Josh- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #6
    What do you guys think of the "quicktime" preset, that's the one I've been using. I love quick time player.
     

Share This Page