Handoff / Continuity

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by DivergenceZero, Oct 20, 2014.

  1. DivergenceZero macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #1
    8.1 was supposed to enable this, right?

    I'm not getting any popups on my Mac when I open for eg. Keynote on my iPhone, nothing happens with my iPad either.

    I think I have handoff checked on every device, as well as iCloud enabled for each iWork app. Bluetooth is online too, on all devices.
     
  2. kage207 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #2
    Actually it came out on iOS 8. I had it working.

    Now that I'm on iOS 8.1, it's broken.

    EDIT: Now it is working after 20 minutes.

    EDIT 2: Actually, I can go from iOS to Mac just not Mac to iOS.
     
  3. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  4. Solver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #4
  5. kage207 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #5
    Yup, I've already looked at the document. Not sure if the OP has.
     
  6. creativedogmedia macrumors 65816

    creativedogmedia

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    #6
    I have a mid-2014 MBP and trying to pair my iPhone 6 to it tells me that it's not compatible...running Yosemite and 8.1 on iPhone and iPad Air. Do you have to actually pair the devices to each other?

    In FT, when I turn the phone call setting on it says I must be signed in with the same Apple ID and on the same wifi network, which I am....
     
  7. SMIDG3T Suspended

    SMIDG3T

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Same here. I can get Handoff off my iPhone to Mac but I'm seeing nothing on iPhone.
     
  8. kage207 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #8
    Ya, I've been trying for the last hour to get it to work... Nothing so far.
     
  9. DivergenceZero thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #9
    Actually Continuity is working fine now (SMS/phone calls via mac/ipad), and I did get a safari icon on my iPhone lock screen that opened to the same webpage as the one on my mac.

    Not getting any popups on my mac though.
     
  10. jordancrombie92 macrumors regular

    jordancrombie92

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    i can't get it to work either way. Everything is compatible and updated and on but it doesn't want to work :/

    I've even turned them off and on again on both my iPhone 6 and MacBook Air 2013 and still nothing... help!
     
  11. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #11
    hi all,

    i two have this problem, i can go from iPhone to iPad but thats it, ic ant go from iPad to iPhone and nothing goes to my MBP.

    I can receive/send calls and SMS on my macbook pro & iPad.

    Any ideas? everything is signed into the same account and all settings are turned on for this to work.
     
  12. Fabian90 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    #12
    same for me
     
  13. jdag macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #13
    There are many many posts about this, so I will submit the fix that worked for me in several threads in the hope that it helps people:

    I was struggling yesterday, and was having very mixed results ranging from handoff not working at all to it working on my iPhone only. I found an article offering a suggested fix, and it worked for me.

    It appears to me that the "missing link" is the FaceTime setup (this was the only article I found that referenced FaceTime settings).

    In my case, I had to sign into FaceTime using my AppleID (which I believe was set in the past, possibly disconnected at some point). Anyhow, it does make sense that this would be a potential gap in Handoff functioning, and it corrected my issue immediately.

    Good luck...this is clearly not an example of "it just works".




    The full article can be found at: http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/continuity-calling-handoff-not-working-ios-8-try-out-fix-1466213



    Step-1: Open the Settings app on your device running iOS 8

    Step-2: Click General

    Step-3: Click Handoff & Suggested Apps

    Step-4: Turn Handoff option Off and turn it On again

    Step-5: Tap General at the top of return to the previous menu

    Step-6: Tap Settings at the top of return to the previous menu

    Step-7: Tap FaceTime

    Step-8: Put the iPhone Cellular Calls option Off and then put it back On again

    Step-9: Once the action is completed, reboot the iPhone or the iPad
     
  14. kage207 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #14
    Didn't work for me.
     
  15. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #15
    Or me
     
  16. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #16
    OK, solved my problem by signing out of iCloud on my Mac and signing back in
    Once I did, BAM everything worked as it should
    My iPhone and iPad both work with the Mac Continuity and Handoff
     
  17. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #17
    Finally!

    i think i've cracked it! i hope it works for you all.

    I had a massive issue where my iPad could up hand off/continuity my iPhone, but i could do a reverse.

    my iPad could also hand off/continuity from my MBP once again no reverse.

    then strangely enough my iPhone couldn't hand off/continuity anything.

    After being on the phone to Apple Support for 48 minutes he advised he would call me back, that was about 20 minutes ago now.

    I was mucking about on my MBP on the bluetooth settings, i noticed that my iPad was connected but my iPhone wasn't. I then decided to remove my iPad from MBP on the BT List, then do the 'forgot device' on both iPad & iPhone.

    I then found both these devices on my MBP and clicked pair for both of them one at a time, then confirming the pin was the same on my MBP which then shows up on both devices.

    Once i had done so i could then hand off from all devices in any order!

    i hope this works for you all :D
     
  18. tyler928 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    #18
    Same here.
     
  19. creativedogmedia macrumors 65816

    creativedogmedia

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    #19
    As soon as I checked my Apple ID as a 2nd send/receive option in FT and Messages it all started working.
     
  20. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #20
    Silly question but, you ARE on Yosemite on your Mac right?
     
  21. creativedogmedia macrumors 65816

    creativedogmedia

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    #21
    is there a way to move a phone call over to a MBP from an iPhone?
     
  22. arkmannj macrumors 65816

    arkmannj

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #22
    I'm having similar issues as other folks.

    I can sometimes get Phone call to register on my computer, but no iWork docs, email, Safari, etc... going either direction show up on the lock screen on my phone, or on the dock of my computer.


    * MacBook Pro
    - OS X version 10.10 (14A389)
    - Retina, 15in, Early 2013 (MacBookPro10,1)
    - Bluetooth enabled, LMP Version:0x6
    - Handoff enabled in System Preferences>>General
    - Checked (enabled) in FaceTime and Messages.

    * iPhone 5
    - iOS version 8.1 (12B411)
    - Hardware Model (MD638LL/A)
    - Bluetooth Enabled
    - Handoff enables in Settings >> General >> Handoff & Suggested Apps
    - Paired with MBP (Bluetooth)
    - On Same Wifi As MBP
    - Logged into same AppleID / iCloud account as MBP
     
  23. Solver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #23
    I HAD one way handoff.
    Signing off iCloud on both iPhone 5 and Mac mini, restarting both, then signing back into iCloud, worked for me.
     
  24. vrungel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #24
    A very specific question:

    Is any of you able to start creating an new iWork doc (Pages, Numbers, Keynote) on either an iOS device or Yosemite and get an icon popping up on another device allowing you to open the doc you're working on? Note I don't mean saving your doc on the iCloud first as I know that works, but that's an old way.
     
  25. arkmannj macrumors 65816

    arkmannj

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #25
    Got it to work finally.

    Repair disk permissions.... It's worked on 2 separate machines for me now.
     

Share This Page