Hard drive transfer question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bmat, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. bmat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    #1
    I have a 2006 Mac Pro, no RAID card, and I am running out of harddrive space. I have a stupid question, and would be very grateful if someone can point me to the right place. Basically I have 2TB in bays 1 and 2 (backing up each other, manually), and 1TB in bays 3 and 4 (backing up each other, manually).

    I'd like to RAID 0 bays 1 and 2 to double my storage (iTunes is killing me), and then RAID 1 bays 3 and 4.

    Is there a way to do that, and is there a way to do it by cloning my drives so the whole transfer process is easy?
     
  2. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #2
    Why don't you get a 3TB drive and stick one of the old ones up in the optical bay? You really coming close to 2GB of itunes?
     
  3. bmat thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    #3
    I haven't seen 3TB drives available. Are they readily available? I didn't see any on new egg, owc....

    My iTunes is 1.75 TB.
     
  4. And1ss macrumors 6502a

    And1ss

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #4
    You could possibly use Chronosync and mirror/backup your drives.
     
  5. philipma1957, Oct 27, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2010

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #5
    first internal 3tb drive

    I think it would just drop in a mac pro sled and work
     

Share This Page