Has anyone actually seen any Map updates?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by CavemanUK, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. CavemanUK macrumors 6502

    CavemanUK

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Rhyl, North Wales
    #1
    Just wondering if anyone has seen any changes to the map app at all this week?

    Do we think it will be a big block change?

    Ive been using Man UTD football club as a test for changes as surely thats a big one that needs to be fixed and so far i havent seen a single correction implemented.
     
  2. 0815 macrumors 68000

    0815

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Location:
    here and there but not over there
    #2
    Did you use the 'report a problem' button?

    And you probably can't assume that any change will show up with a few days after complaining.
     
  3. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #3
    Reported multiple issues since beta 1 of iOS 6. Nothing has been fixed.
     
  4. CavemanUK thread starter macrumors 6502

    CavemanUK

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Rhyl, North Wales
    #4
    Oh yes, ive been reporting quite a few problems as im sure have tens of thousands of other users. My curiousity was how quickly fixes are being made. I would assume theres a priority system in place but if the high profile errors (eg. duncaster!) aren't being fixed quickly, thats a little more worrying.

    Another high profile error in my area (and I wonder if its same for others) is if you use siri to search for a nearby hotel it gives me 15 taxi services. If I ask siri for petrol station i get list of grocery stores!. Has anyone else experienced this?
     
  5. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #5
    Yes, that's a known issue with the maps in the UK.
     
  6. cyks macrumors 68020

    cyks

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    #6
    I have sent in numerous complaints/ reports as well without a peep.

    Why can't we assume changes quickly? Other services have been known to address problems in the same amount of time - and often give you a personal, albeit generic form, email to confirm the report.
     
  7. mw360 macrumors 65816

    mw360

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #7
    On day 1 maps revealed a local escort/massage service! On day 2 its gone.

    Before anyone asks, no, I don't remember what icon they used for it.
     
  8. austinguy23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #8
    You'd think they'd prioritize the Statue of Liberty at least. That's just embarrassing...
     
  9. VulchR macrumors 68020

    VulchR

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    Scotland
    #9
    You'd think Apple would have an army of people working on making the corrections ... by confirming them in Google Maps.

    FWIW - iOS Maps is fine so far where I am, but I gather there are problems elsewhere.
     
  10. mattgoldey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Location:
    Rowlett, TX
    #10
    The Statue of Liberty appears ok to me this morning. There's no 3D model of it available, but the satellite picture looks fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. kappaknight macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #11
    Why? Are people having trouble finding it?
     
  12. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #12
    It's odd they did New York City, but not the Statue of Liberty.
     
  13. Trager macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #13
    Not gonna lie, I'm a little disappointed you didn't make a screen capture for that.
     
  14. Squid7085 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #14
    Honestly with all the bad press Apple has been getting, I would have been expecting nightly updates. I am equally surprised. They didn't seem to even make any of the obvious fixes that were reported during the Beta testing.
     
  15. mattgoldey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Location:
    Rowlett, TX
    #15
    I'm not sure what you're talking about. The SoL looks fine.
     
  16. OzyOly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    #16
    They've not fixed any bugs I reported in Beta 1, months ago.
     
  17. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #17
    New York City is 3D rendered. The SoL is not. I found it odd.
     
  18. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #18
    Only Manhattan is rendered in 3D, not all of New York (yet?). Still, you'd think that would be an obvious thing to have done.
     
  19. AlphaVictor87 macrumors 6502a

    AlphaVictor87

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO
    #19
    I used to live in a relatively small town. our highschool there was named wrong. i put in a fix to it this morning. i'll be keeping an eye on it to see how long a small fix like that takes.

    I wish St. louis, MO was rendered in 3D. The Arch and Busch Stadium would be a couple of cool things to see.
     
  20. The Economist macrumors 6502

    The Economist

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    Mexico
    #20
    Satellite imagery is being updated for sure. When iOS 6 was launched, it used a very old image of a lot over here. It was completely empty. Today the same lot shows a highrise that was built a year and a half ago.

    The Arch is pretty cool indeed. I hate its claustrophobic ball–shaped elevators though.
     
  21. msubugzy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #21
    PART of Manhattan is rendered...as much as people in Midtown want to believe the island doesn't stop at 115th.
     
  22. BoxerGT2.5 macrumors 68000

    BoxerGT2.5

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #22
    Wait for iOS 7, they'll update their data to 1999. iOS 9 we'll finally stop finding local dinning establishments in cemeteries.
     
  23. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #23
    Eh, no more obvious than rendering DC in 3D....
     
  24. andrunious macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #24
    lol
     
  25. joekun macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    #25
    Posted this in another thread as well, but last Thursday after I upgraded to iOS6 on my iPhone 4 maps didn't know where Children's Hospital was in Los Angeles. It had the two hospitals next to it labeled properly, but Children's just showed as a box. Yesterday I was going to mark it and report it, but it had already been updated.
     

Share This Page