Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Britaniola

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 29, 2022
4
0
I really want a multi-port adapter with ethernet but, at this point, I'll take a working ethernet adapter for my new MBA M2 base model. Just want to be able to connect to my company ethernet (No Wi-Fi for security reasons). So far I've tried, Anker 5-Port USB-C Multimedia Hub (A8338HA1-5), Belkin CONNECT 6-in-1 USB-C Hub with Power Delivery (AVC008BTSGY), and, UGREEN USB C Hub 7 in 1. I've called Apple support and the various companies but I cannot get any recommendations as to what will work.
 

BorderingOn

macrumors 6502
Jun 12, 2016
484
466
BaseCamp Pro
I have the Anker one you linked and it works fine on both a M1 MBP and the last Intel Air.

Have you tried an Ethernet connection other than your company’s?
 

Ruggy

macrumors 6502a
Jan 11, 2017
897
568
There's something not right there. I have 3 different hub adaptors, all cheap ones and they all work on the Macbook pro and the M1 mac.
Can you take the machine into an Apple store and see if they can get it t work?
Just another thought about the ethernet cable: You need a short one - a couple of meters. If you are by chance trying to connect over a really long ethernet cable-5Mtrs+ it causes
problems- I have seen that. I don't think there's enough power or something?
 

Yebubbleman

macrumors 601
May 20, 2010
4,970
1,686
Los Angeles, CA
There's a standard Belkin USB-C to Gigabit Ethernet adapter that is all but first party. Like, it might as well be made by Apple given that there is full native support for it out of the box in both Intel and Apple Silicon versions of macOS. If that doesn't work with your machine, my guess is that your machine has another issue. I'd suggest that it could be an M2 thing, but that would be highly unlikely given (a) how close to first party this accessory is and (b) how not at all of a change M2 is over M1/M1 Pro/M1 Max/M1 Ultra in terms of accessory compatibility.
 

Furby2005

macrumors newbie
May 9, 2019
24
9
Surrey, UK
I bought this one, https://smile.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B08Q36HB3G/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o08_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 and my M1 MacBook Pro sees it and connects to the network at 1 Gbs without issue. The problem I have with mine is with the device itself. Even when the Mac is NOT connected and it's just sitting there with just the ethernet, power and HDMI cables attached, the unit seems to generate frenetic ethernet activity and, basically, brings my whole network down. The activity lights on the unit and on the switch it's connected to flash continually and devices on the network start disappearing from view. As soon as I disconnect it, everything else immediately returns to normal. I've been debating buying a more expensive known-brand model such as this one from Anker, https://smile.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08CK...colid=3OCK63BSHZ0E&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it to see if it solves the problem or is there an inherent problem with the conversion of ethernet to USB-C?
 

Carlson-online

macrumors 6502
May 27, 2004
309
862
I have just been through this pain.
Kanex ones top out at 480Mb (realtek chip - driver issue )
Aukey ones no good either!

Bought one of these ( I don't need 2.5 yet, but will next year ) and works perfectly, I get 980Mb out of my virgin connection:

 

HDFan

Contributor
Jun 30, 2007
4,761
1,795
I really want a multi-port adapter with ethernet but, at this point, I'll take a working ethernet adapter for my new MBA M2 base model. Just want to be able to connect to my company ethernet (No Wi-Fi for security reasons). So far I've tried, Anker 5-Port USB-C Multimedia Hub (A8338HA1-5), Belkin CONNECT 6-in-1 USB-C Hub with Power Delivery (AVC008BTSGY), and, UGREEN USB C Hub 7 in 1. I've called Apple support and the various companies but I cannot get any recommendations as to what will work.

How do they fail?
 

rocketbuc

macrumors regular
Oct 18, 2017
145
92
Maybe someone has a suggestion for an hub with a longer or detachable cable. I would like to keep the hub with all other cables hidden under my desk…but I can’t seem to find a suitable one with 4k/60Hz HDMI and gigabit Ethernet.
Any ideas are welcome.
 

Britaniola

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 29, 2022
4
0
I have the Anker one you linked and it works fine on both a M1 MBP and the last Intel Air.

Have you tried an Ethernet connection other than your company’s?
Mine, at home and at my in-laws. Different cables & routers.
 

Britaniola

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 29, 2022
4
0
There's something not right there. I have 3 different hub adaptors, all cheap ones and they all work on the Macbook pro and the M1 mac.
Can you take the machine into an Apple store and see if they can get it t work?
Just another thought about the ethernet cable: You need a short one - a couple of meters. If you are by chance trying to connect over a really long ethernet cable-5Mtrs+ it causes
problems- I have seen that. I don't think there's enough power or something?
I’ve used both short and long connections directly to home routers. It doesn’t seem to make a difference.
 

Beefbowl

macrumors member
Mar 28, 2021
60
61
So this is kind of way off in left field, especially on a MacBook Air. I've usually seen it on Mac Studios.

My day job is working with a piece of security software that includes a firewall, but this behavior could also be seen if you had a VPN installed.

It turns out that there is a limit in MacOS to the number of network interfaces a program can bind to. If there are more network interfaces in the system than the limit, and you have a program that tries to bind to all of them, network functionality has a tendency to die.

There are a lot of things on a Mac that are treated as network interfaces. Every individual thunderbolt port, for one, which is why this typically affects Mac Studios with 4 or 6 TB ports. The MBA only has two so it doesn't seem super likely.

However, it's possible your normal configuration is right at the threshold, and adding an additional network interface is going over it.

Apple increased this internal limit with 12.4 and then doubled it again with 13. So if you're already on 12.4 or 13 then this probably isn't the issue and you can ignore this entire post. But if you aren't, maybe try upgrading the OS.

If you run these two commands from a terminal, what do you get?

networksetup -listallhardwareports

ifconfig

You'll probably need to run both of these with sudo.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rmadsen3

beansbaxter

macrumors member
Jun 2, 2015
85
22
Seattle
I really want a multi-port adapter with ethernet but, at this point, I'll take a working ethernet adapter for my new MBA M2 base model.

I have a 2022 MBA M2 and it works great with this all in one hub, which includes a hard wired Ethernet port:


I purchased it with my 2019 MBP 16” and continued using it when I got my MBA M2. Use it all the time. No problems.

Hope that helps.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Choco Taco

Choco Taco

macrumors regular
Nov 23, 2022
234
333
I have a 2022 MBA M2 and it works great with this all in one hub, which includes a hard wired Ethernet port:


I purchased it with my 2019 MBP 16” and continued using it when I got my MBA M2. Use it all the time. No problems.

Hope that helps.
I'm currently using one of their hubs on my M1 Air and it's extremely good quality. Better than everything else I've tried so far.
 

Ruggy

macrumors 6502a
Jan 11, 2017
897
568
My mistake that doesn't have an ethernet port.
This is the only one that they say is compatible.

Sorry for that.
I have checked the compatibility for some of the adaptors sold on the Apple site and interestingly they don't include the M2 air. Hmm.
This one does however.
 

beansbaxter

macrumors member
Jun 2, 2015
85
22
Seattle
I'm currently using one of their hubs on my M1 Air and it's extremely good quality. Better than everything else I've tried so far.

I only purchased mine because I was severely limited by available options, at the time of my MacBook purchase. Fast forward a few years now, and I have no complaints. Works great. And I use the Ethernet port a few times a month, which has been very convenient.

Only issue I had was at the time of purchase, the HDMI port wasn't working. And the store flashed it to the newest firmware, which required a Windows machine, and the HDMI port has worked great ever since. From what I can tell, firmware updates can only be made on Windows machines, but I haven't had to update again so it's been a nonissue.
 

Choco Taco

macrumors regular
Nov 23, 2022
234
333
I only purchased mine because I was severely limited by available options, at the time of my MacBook purchase. Fast forward a few years now, and I have no complaints. Works great. And I use the Ethernet port a few times a month, which has been very convenient.

Only issue I had was at the time of purchase, the HDMI port wasn't working. And the store flashed it to the newest firmware, which required a Windows machine, and the HDMI port has worked great ever since. From what I can tell, firmware updates can only be made on Windows machines, but I haven't had to update again so it's been a nonissue.
You can upgrade them in Windows via Parallels as well.
 

Amazon Rainforest

macrumors newbie
Jul 6, 2022
18
27
I upgraded my internet service to 1Gbps but strangely the most I could get out of a speed test was 5-600Mbps. I have a 2016 MBP with an OWC Thunderbolt 4 dock (w/ethernet). I called the ISP and they sent a tech to check the line. Their equipment registered nearly 1Gbps speed. After further checking, I found out that most most computers use a 1Gbps ethernet chip made by Realtek. The Mac driver for this chip is flawed and won't give you anywhere near 1Gbps. So, I bought a $30 USB-C -> 2.5Gb ethernet dongle. I now get 940Mbps! And that is with the dongle plugged into the T4 dock. I recommend going with a 2.5Gbps ethernet port even if you don't need it yet. It still uses a Realtek chip but it is different and so is the driver.
 

jdb8167

macrumors 601
Nov 17, 2008
4,215
3,827
I use this D-Link 2.5 Gbps ethernet adapter. It doesn't use the Realtek chip and is much better on battery.


Screenshot 2022-12-05 at 3.09.31 PM.png
 

wardie

macrumors 6502a
Aug 18, 2008
549
177
I'm using one of these UGREEN ones (Ethernet+USB) and it works fine, even via my 4K LG Monitor's USB-C hub...
 
  • Like
Reactions: KaliYoni

Emmadw

macrumors newbie
May 18, 2009
8
0
I'm using one of these UGREEN ones (Ethernet+USB) and it works fine, even via my 4K LG Monitor's USB-C hub...
Can you confirm that this definitely works with a 2022 M2 Macbook? I've seen some similar ones noting that they don't work with M2, due to the chipset.
 

wardie

macrumors 6502a
Aug 18, 2008
549
177
Can you confirm that this definitely works with a 2022 M2 Macbook? I've seen some similar ones noting that they don't work with M2, due to the chipset.

Yes although its worth noting it’s plugged into my LG monitor’s USBC hub, which then plugs into/powers the MBA.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.