Has anyone made a photography website in iWeb?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Dman77, Jul 2, 2009.

1. Dman77 macrumors member

I'm debating which route to go down, whether to do the Photium/Clikpic thing or try to create my own website in iWeb 09. As an amateur, my images are nothing special but I'd still like a decent looking site to showcase my better stuff on, but I'm not too keen on the type of sites you get with the iWeb templates.

I'm just wondering if anyone's managed to create something that moves away from the 'traditional' iWeb look, and if so whether they'd mind sharing their efforts on here?

2. joro macrumors 68020

joro

When I first started my business I did use iWeb to create the site; however, I found quickly that it was quite clunky when it came to managing hundreds of images. I have tried a couple of different websites but I ended up going with bludomain who makes flash websites for photographers & design types. Their basic website was $100 and another $100 for yearly hosting. I’ve been satisfied with them and I also done different designs which have all worked seamlessly.

Back to your question though, I think iPhoto could be used for a beginning website but, as mentioned above, I was constantly plagued by slow downloads – or picture viewing – and while the interface was super easy, it didn’t provide what I needed.

3. cosmokanga2 macrumors 6502a

cosmokanga2

I created mine in iWeb. I have a couple tips that will help in making the pages load quickly.

• Disable "Optimize images on import" in preferences as it reduces the image quality of pictures to a unusable quality. Instead when you export your images size them to the exact size they will be on you page and set the jpeg quality to a acceptable level. 7-8 for me.