Have we heard anything on charging time?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by DS3, Mar 11, 2012.

1. DS3 macrumors 6502a

We could be in for some long charges if the rate is the same with the much larger capacity.

Though I'm no technical expert on batteries so perhaps there is reason to believe it will be similar.

Thankfully my iPad rarely got below 50% anyway and I use it a lot.

2. master-ceo macrumors 65816

master-ceo

I wonder if the new iPad will come with a more powerful charging brick to compansate

3. appleguy123 macrumors 603

appleguy123

Same 10 watt charger. It's a bigger battery than the MacBook Air 11", which requires a 45 Watt charger. I'm betting that this will take forever to charge, and will be nearly impossible with the iPhone charger which I used to carry for portability's sake.
    Screen Shot 2012-03-11 at 11.18.30 PM.png

4. SteveAbootman macrumors 6502a

SteveAbootman

I've gotten into a pretty good charging cycle with my iPad 1st gen. It's very rare that I have to charge anytime but overnight. The thing could take 7 hours to go from 0-100 and I'd be okay with it.

5. vega07 macrumors 65816

If the charge time is nearly doubled, that would be ridiculous. It already takes about 4-5 hours for 0-100% with the iPad 2.

6. big samm macrumors 65816

I know with my first gen ipad it takes 3 hours from 0 to 100%. Im surprised people are saying the ipad 2 takes 4 to 5 hours that seems a eternity!

7. Julien macrumors G3

Julien

Just plug it in every night before you go to bed and it will be 100% charged when you wake up.;) I have been doing this since iPad day one and have never had to worry about charging time.

----------

A larger wall wart won't equate to faster charging time since Lithium-ion's require control circuits that dictate the charging speed.

8. iHeartsteve macrumors 65816

iHeartsteve

I dont mind the 4-5 hr charge time but any long would be highly inconvenient

9. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

Stealthipad