HDD Upgrade/Replacement Procedure Question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Drummy, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. Drummy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    York/Liverpool
    #1
    I have posted recently about this, but things went wrong and I have reverted to the pre-HDD-swap version of my computer (saving all files made/downloaded since to a separate drive for later recovery) to have another whack at it, and hopefully get it right this time.

    My HDD Configuration is as follows...

    "OS" - 64GB SSD containing OSX Snow Leopard, as well as Apps/Library/System/User files etc.

    "HOME" - 1TB HDD which has been set as the HOME directory, with the folder named after my short name and designated by a little house icon on it (contains iTunes files, Documents etc...).

    "SAMPLES" - 1TB HDD containing sample libraries for audio work.

    "AUDIO" - 1TB HDD containing audio projects for audio work.

    The one in bold is the one that I wish to swap out for a 2TB version of the same drive.

    As I said I tried this before, my procedure was to put both drives in the MacPro (the original in it's original bay, the new one in the spare SATA connection where a secondary optical drive would be), CarbonCopyClone the drive over, and then turn off the MacPro and replace the old drive for the new one in the same HDbay. When I did this, LOTS of strange things began to happen. Login occasionally failed, iTunes kept locking up (sometimes then flashing the message "iTunes library file could not be saved; disk could not be read from or written to"), iFlicks became unable to convert things half of the time due to miscommunications with iTunes blah blah blah, all problems that I think we're chiefly down to the OS drive being a little unfamiliar with the new drive for one reason or another.

    After two calls to Apple (one telling me to repair drives and permissions, one telling me to reinstall snow leopard) the problem still wasn't solved, so I have decided to put the old HDD back in (thankfully I had saved it just as it was) and NONE of the problems are presenting themselves now, so I thought I'd just try the whole procedure again (As I sais I can restore the files I have created/downloaded since the failed swap once the procedure is successful as I've saved them in a separate place). Now here's the question...

    QUESTION: WHAT EXACTLY WOULD THE PROCEDURE BE FOR ME UPGRADING MY 1TB "HOME" DRIVE (AS I'VE NAMED IT) TO THE NEW 2TB I HAVE BOUGHT

    Thanks in Advance!

    Dan
     
  2. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #2
    Did you re-link the Home directory in System Prefs "advanced" area after copying?
     
  3. Drummy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    York/Liverpool
    #3
    Yeah. Nothings worked. I've basically rethought the configuration of my set up so that now the 2TB is a separate drive for my downloads/iTunes/other media folder. I put it in my free optical drive bay.

    This has raised a new question for me; can someone direct me to a mount which will allow me to keep my 3.5inch Caviar Black fixed in the optical bay?

    Thanks
     
  4. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #4
    newegg has a mount let me look.

    here it is

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816215285

    it may be cheaper on ebay.


    here is a lower cost ebay link I don't know the seller. but 20000 sales at 99.9 positive

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Hard-Drive-3-5-...ultDomain_0&hash=item56458323d5#ht_1959wt_882
     
  5. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #5
    Maybe try reformatting to GUID HFS+ one more time. I don't know, sounds really screwy. Do you have another HD you can do a small copy to to check if it is indeed HW?
     

Share This Page