Headless Mini Display Resolutions (!)

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by drsox, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. drsox, Jun 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2012

    drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #1
    I'm running a Mini headless and controlling it via Screen Sharing.
    The only display resolutions I can select are : 1680x1050, 1280x1024, 1024x768, 800x600.
    When I connect a real display to it I get the full list, including the one that is the best for my MBA - 1440x900.
    Is there any way I can fool the Mini into displaying other/any resolution ?

    I've looked at Switch ResX but it doesn't work in Lion and Display Maestro is no use. Ideas ?

    PS I got Switch ResX to work, but it is no use either.
     
  2. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    What model is yours? I run a headless 2009 mini server and use a mini display port>HDMI dongle plugged into it to get additional resolutions.
     
  3. drsox thread starter macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #3
    It's a Mid 2011 version. Is the fact of a mini display port>HDMI dongle plugged in without a monitor on the other end sufficient to fool OS X ?
     
  4. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    Yes. But not sure how well it would work for the newer mini's like yours with HDMI built in. And probably not worth tieing up the TB port just for more res options.
     
  5. drsox thread starter macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #5
    Thanks, I'll try it. I did notice that after I had disconnected the Samsung Monitor from the TB port the "new" display resolution of 1440x900 was still available. It didn't however survive a reboot.
    I don't use the TB port anyway since I/O is though the GbNIC. It's more important for me to get a good remote desktop image.
     
  6. drsox thread starter macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #6
    Update : A dongle didn't make any difference.
     
  7. ignigena macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    #7
    This is a very interesting thread for me. I would like to use a headless Mac mini with splashtop at 2048x1536, so I am on the same page than drsox . If its not possible right now, would it be possible with mountain lion? Any ideas anyone?

    Thank you :)
     
  8. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #8
    how does the macbook air get the signal via wi fi.

    are you able to get it to work with a better wi fi router.

    I wonder if signal strength matters for connections. I would be curious to know if any wi fi router would give more choice of displays or are all limited to just a few.
     
  9. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #9
    Just to see what happens, you might want to try installing LogMeIn and see what display options it gives you.
     
  10. drsox thread starter macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #10
    The Mini is GbLAN connected to an Airport Extreme as a router. Don't think the router has any effect as the Mini and the MBA are both connected through the same switch (MBA via TB-LAN adaptor). Data would go MBA>switch>Mini. It must be an effect of the default settings on the GPU when not connected to any monitor.

    I managed to improve the Mini's screen resolution on the MBA by turning off scaling as a setting in RealVNC.

    ----------

    Tried that. No change. I get best display results by using RealVNC as the remote initiator and viewer.
     

Share This Page