Heads up - apple hardware test unrecoverable on 2011 macbook pros after partition

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by h00ligan, Sep 12, 2011.

1. h00ligan, Sep 12, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2011

h00ligan macrumors 68030

If you partition the factory drive, or replace it with a new drive - you cannot recover the apple hardware test through any reasonable means.

This was confirmed with a senior apple tech today.

Even if you use the recovery tool to make a thumb drive, then use that thumb drive to recreate apple's recovery partition.. then use that recovery partition to resintall from the internet - it will not be placed back.

The only way to then replace it is to find a factory fresh machine and copy it over using terminal from the mounted target disk.. and even that is iffy ( based on the source machine type.

The stupidity keeps on rolling. The bottom line is, there is no way to do a real factory restore.

2. rbm0307 macrumors newbie

I'm new to Macs so I don't understand the risk I am running by this shortcoming. If I were to replace my OEM drive with a new SSD on my 2010 13" MBP, for example, what will I loose by not being able to recreate the apple hardware test properly? Data loss (Assume I'm running a backup utility such as Timemachine or similar)? Or is this an inconvenience? Thank you for helping me to understand.

3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

gr8tfly

I agree, it's unfortunate the test partition can't be restored. I believe our original MBA had this feature and I replaced its drive - only restoring the SL partition. I never tested the test feature after that, but based on what you're saying, it's gone.