Healthbook not counting steps

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Daniel.steel, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. Daniel.steel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    York UK
    #1
    I've used healthbook in the iOS 8 betas. However today with the iPhone 6 it's no longer tracking my steps in the healthbook app and I've no option to switch it on.

    Anyone have any ideas on how to switch step count on for HealthBook?

    Thanks
     
  2. ZeeDD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
  3. odditie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    I just checked my iPhone 6+ and it is tracking them as well as floors climbed. I didn't check it prior to seeing this message and I restored from the cloud on an iPhone 5 so I haven't done anything to setup tracking it.
     
  4. Daniel.steel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    York UK
    #4
    Nope, nothing in flights climbed. I've looked at another health app and its tracking steps. So the M8 must be running fine, but the native HealthBook app isn't happy.
     
  5. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #5
    My 6 doesn't have anything in Health app either for steps. It isn't even listed as a data source.
     
  6. bclizzle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
  7. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #7
    It won't it's under fitness>steps
     
  8. Daniel.steel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    York UK
    #8
    So I don't know if it was a replication delay thing or what but its now starter to display my steps for the day!?!

    Very strange.
     
  9. Nikhil72 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #9
    My 6+ isn't showing anything either, whereas my 5S on GM did...any input?
     
  10. soulreaver99 macrumors 68020

    soulreaver99

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Location:
    Southern California
    #10
    Nope. There was a fitbit app update today and it still doesn't do it yet. lame
     
  11. madsci954 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    There was bug with the HealthKit system found right before iOS 8 went live, and all apps with the HealthKit APIs were pulled.

    ----------

    I don't trust the steps. I wear a fitness tracker that records steps. I've been wearing my tracker all day, and didn't have my 5s on hand for the same amount of time, and here is my current count:

    5s: 7,358
    Fitness tracker: 6,605
     
  12. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  13. iPhisch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    Indiana
    #13
    If you get the app Daily Steps, you can add a step tracker to Notifications. Pretty cool.
     
  14. LV426 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    #14
    I updated to iOS 8 on my 5S the day it was released.

    However, the new Health app shows graphs of my steps going back as far as 10 September. The data starts quite a few days before I upgraded the OS.

    IIRC, step data is recorded in the background by the motion co-processor, and not all iPhone models have that.
     
  15. KurtWilde macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #15
    Same here, it recorded 14 steps the first day then nothing. Other apps display info related to the M8
     
  16. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #16
    My wife's is tracking hers. Mine nothing at all.
    Not even sure how to use it, but I did do the med. ID
     
  17. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #17
    Mine is counting and even gave millage on a run. Sure will be glad when it's updated to work with Apps/devices.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Piertown macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #18
    How do you get it to display in miles,mine is in km
     
  19. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #19
    The same way you got your to display Kilometers.:D

    Maybe Apple will add this it in Settings (also setting default weight, sex hight,...) in the update since the App is not listed there.
     
  20. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #20

    Seriously, i would like to know too, i can't find where to change it to miles.
    It came stock with Km. We don't really use Km in UK.
     
  21. Padmini macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    #21
    Mine is counting, but telling me I'm doing 9,000+ steps before noon...

    I barely even walked from the bed, to the coffee, to my office.....
     
  22. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #22
    You didn't happen to be holding your phone whilst engaging in....personal activities lol
     
  23. sviato macrumors 68020

    sviato

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    HR 9038 A
    #23
    Does anyone's app have calorie info? Mine has been blank - does this need another app?
     
  24. madsci954 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #24
    Yes, the Health app is really a silo for 3rd party apps. But right before iOS 8 went live, Apple found a bug with the HealthKit system. We don't know what it was but it was bad enough that Apple pulled all apps with HealthKit Apis. We don't know when they're coming back but Apple said they will try to have it back by the end of the month.
     
  25. Ferrd macrumors regular

    Ferrd

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #25
    I had the same issue when I installed iOS8 on my 5S. I had to reset all settings to get it to start counting steps and distance.
     

Share This Page