Heat and Performance issues with MacBook Pro, 7 and COD4

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MrCheeto, Nov 27, 2009.

  1. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #1
    I just spent a full 25 hours getting Windows 7 fully installed. Sheesh, I remember why I told my friends I'd never fix their Windows computers again. It's hell searching for every little puzzle piece online, especially when the computer can't get online!!

    (every time I use Windows, I feel more blessed that I have a mac ;) )

    Anyway, after all of this I get Call Of Duty 4 installed (first game) and give it a try. Within 3 minutes my fans are hollering like a rabid banshee. I have set EVERYTHING to extreme low, even turned anti-aliasing off. What gives?!

    Now remember, I was playing COD4 within OS X on the Mac version, the thing ran like butter down Kirstie Alley's chin. What is this? Is OpenGL THAT MUCH better than DirectX? I mean really the performance differences are...well...you'd have to be some sort of brainwashed cultic psychopath to think that Windows was a better gaming platform.

    So what's to do? I know I have all my drivers right and I played with the Nvidia control panel, any thoughts? The thing starts skipping and then if I pause the game, total lock up =\

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Was there any problem with the installation? It's about an hour on my Macbook.

    There's no proper SMC driver for Windows so the fans are very aggressive when temperatures go up. Reducing your graphical settings is only going to increase your frames per second and not reduce your temperature.

    Once again there are proper SMC drivers under OS X and very lax at that. In addition CoD4 under OS X is run under a translation layer. You're getting fewer frames per second when compared to the Windows version. Check your temperatures and there are plenty of threads about hot Apple notebooks.

    Check the logs and download the latest drivers from nVidia.
     
  3. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #3
    Wrongity wrong about one thing.

    No matter how hard I try my system locks up. I've turned EVERYTHING down to where there's nothing but tan blobs shooting eachother up with pixelated blurs. And in OS X? Beautiful framerates and beautiful graphics. Screenshots? I got em ;)

    CLICK!

    All 1280x800

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Also, you couldn't be more wrong about the temps. Even if Apple keeps the fans low it stays comfortably cool to my lap, whereas my gameplay today on Windows induced flashbacks of inadvertent unorthodox sterilization by the PowaBooks.
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    I can't do anything if you're not going to put forth the effort to troubleshoot.

    Here's the latest thread I've posted in.

    If you really, really don't believe me there are at least a dozen threads where I explain how the fan behavior works on the Unibody notebooks because someone noticed in iStat Pro that their CPU hit 101° C.
     
  5. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #5
    I've done all I can. Updating/changing drivers, playing in the Nvidia control panel, downloading different DirectX versions and yet I still can't play on 480 res even!

    Did I not say it FEELS cooler? I don't care if the fans cut OFF when it gets hot, the fact is it feels cooler when playing in OS X and the fact that I can run at medium high in OS X yet it will hardly chug along in Windows is deaply disturbing, I thought Windows was the platform of choice -.-' psychos, I tell ya.

    As for the 25 hours of work put into it, it only took an hour and a half MAYBE to format and install. The issues arose with drivers..drivers...ALL THE DRIVERS!!! I like how with OS X one disk gets it all done automatically, NOTHING to configure. I just got the sound working 2 or 3 hours ago.

    Thanks but has anyone played COD4 in 7 on a 13" 2.53ghz MacBook Pro?
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Did you check the crash logs? I can't find anything specific to hard locks in Call of Duty 4 on the 9400M G.

    The BootCamp/64.msi takes about 5-10 minutes. Why didn't you use that?
     
  7. CQd44 macrumors 6502a

    CQd44

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Location:
    Edinburg, Texas
    #7
    Doesn't Apple supply the drivers in a neat little package? What on earth did you do?
     
  8. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #8
    Thanks to 7 it just took matters into its own hands and decided it was best not to install certain drivers because of compatibility. In the end I had to manually install those and got things running at least -.-' I hate when Windows makes decisions for me, it's like the simple groundskeeper at church, sure he means well but he's more of a burden than a help/amusement.


    How would I find the logs? And it's supposed to be the 9400m.

    32bit Windows 7 Ultimate =\
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Which Boot Camp drivers are you using? 3.0 is what I and others have been using for Windows 7. You're not going to need to elevate the installer for 32-bit though.

    It's technically the MCP7A-U with the 9400M G if you really want to be specific. I've always just overridden the compatibility complaints.

    You can use the search with "event log" to bring it up or the Event Viewer is a snap-in to the Computer Management Console. You can bring that up by right clicking on Computer and then clicking on "Manage".
     
  10. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #10
    Crap thanks, never would have figured out the log location.

    Version 3? Apple's site says 2.2 is the latest, what's going on? Do you have a download link?
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    3.0 comes with Snow Leopard and any Mac that ships with Snow Leopard preinstalled is going to have some slightly newer version of 3.0. It should say 3.0 with a build number after it in the installer.

    On a side note, the windows search in the start menu is damn useful.
     
  12. Jason Beck macrumors 68000

    Jason Beck

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Cedar City, Utah
    #12
    lol.
     
  13. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #13
    The search in the start menu is the ONLY way I'll ever find anything on this damned half ass system explorer. I tell you, and I've said this since XP, Windows devs leave scaffolding and paint buckets lying around, CLEAN UP AND MAKE IT RIGHT, gnarbs!

    I can't find my build number, however when I tried to manually install each driver I got nothing but complaints from the hamsters running the wheels inside. I downloaded 2.2 from Apple's site and BOOM, sound works. I did manage to get the Nvidia drivers from the disk, though. Still unsure what version.
     
  14. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #14
    What version of the Nvidia Forceware drivers do you have?
     
  15. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
  16. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #16
    Right click on the desktop and choose nvidia control panel, then under one of the menus, there's an info selection. You can also find out the driver version for your graphics card in Device Manager.
     
  17. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #17
    OK I see nothing about forceware, anything in particular like Physx or something?

    Driver Version 186.81
    DirectX Version 11.0

    Anything else?

    Man I'm going to be hugely dissapointed if this doesn't perform BETTER under Windows than OS X.
     
  18. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #18
    It performs so much better on my MacBook Pro on Windows that I only use the Mac side of it for multiplayer. A major part of that is being able to overclock in Windows. I recommend updating your Nvidia drivers. The ones that come with Bootcamp are always outdated.

    Windows 7 32-bit: http://www.nvidia.com/object/notebook_winvista_win7_195.55.html
    Windows 7 64-bit: http://www.nvidia.com/object/notebook_winvista_win7_x64_195.55.html

    I also suggest SMC fan control. I use it to set my fans to 7000rpm before I boot into Windows.
     
  19. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #19
    Isn't it a bad idea to run the fan's motor that high?

    I can't believe it, but it worked somewhat. It's playable now!!! :D However the heat is still an issue...oh the PowerBook has scarred us all 8o

    Anyway, I'll play with the settings. Have you played COD on a MacBook Pro using the 9400m? What's optimum for ya?
     
  20. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #20
    I've only played multiplayer with the 9400M on the Mac side and had all the settings at maximum. I've had the fans running at that speed for almost 2 years and have had no problems, my computer is always on. As for heat, my MBP gets up over 90C while running any game on Mac OS. My GPU temp doesn't go below 79C in Mac OS, even when idling. I use a cooling pad to help overclocking in Windows though. Even overclocked though, the GPU doesn't seem to go much above 80C.
     
  21. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #21
    Crap, that's the thing, I wanted to see what people do with their 9400m when on Windows because on MacOS I had it at medium-high.

    *sigh* I guess I'll have to wait for MW2 to be ported =\
     
  22. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #22
    If you have it med-high on Mac OS, you should be able to run it on high on Windows. I get about double the fps on Windows.
     
  23. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #23
    Well then something is terribly wrong :p I have a feeling it's my settings. Damn it's so tricky, 5,000,000 combinations of settings. Some in the Nvidia control panel, some in the game >< Damn just make it Apple-simple PLEASE! hahaha
     
  24. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #24
    You shouldn't have to set anything in the control panel, just in game.
     
  25. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #25
    Well every combo I try just comes out choppy as Porky Pig's speech. =\

    Is there a chance that enabling anti-aliasing could IMPROVE the performance? I turned everything waaaay down or off so if there's anything that would do BETTER if higher then gimme an idea.

    Thanks a ton.
     

Share This Page