heat

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by twoodcc, Oct 15, 2009.

  1. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #1
    okay so i a question that maybe someone here can help me with. i have an issue with heat in my 2-room apartment (about 950 sq ft i think).

    here are all the electronic devices i have:

    2006 mac pro 2.66 quad, 14 GB RAM, 4 hard drives, 1 video card (ATI 1900)
    2007 white macbook
    2006 macbook pro
    2008 macbook air
    2009 macbook pro
    2009 xbox 360
    wii
    2007 ps3 (i think 2007, can't remember)
    sony 46" lcd tv
    3 piece speakers with pretty big sub (for when the neighbors turn their music on)
    2009 asus pc with core i7 processor.
    2 x monitors for the i7 and mac pro


    okay i think that's it. that's all i can think of at the moment.

    here is the issue: last night and this morning, it was 48 degrees outside, and i have the air set to around 78-79, and the air is on. and it comes on. in fact, i woke up last night sweating.

    i first had the i7 and mac pro in the same room. that room got hot. so i moved the i7 in my bedroom to spread out the heat.

    is the mac pro really producing that much heat? i really think it is the heat maker here. i have it running 24/7 as a web server.

    any ideas on how i can reduce this heat? i was folding on a lot of these machines, but at this rate, i'll have to stop folding totally
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    mp produces ALOT of heat.

    i think GPU produces the most, since my upgrade to 4890 it's painful to game in summer.

    so, I went to the store and bought 10meter cables of usb, sound, dvi, hdmi
    and put my mac pro in another room. :)

    my room is crazy silent now
    and, for once, chilly even during crysis gaming
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Do you have iStat Pro so you can actually see how hot it is?
     
  4. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #4
    but the video card in my mac pro is not great of a card

    no, but i'll try and find it now
     
  5. Erkinshadow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Scranton PA
    #5
    Turn down the air

    If I were I would turn down the heat in ur appartment to about 65. Let the mac heat ur place sence u have to keep it on.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    It doesn't have to be. Some GPUs runs @ 80 Celsius when they are idling
     
  7. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #7
    you must misunderstand me. i have the Air Conditioning on, not the heat. it's 48 outside, and over 80 degrees inside. and it would be hotter if the air wasn't on.

    well i have istat pro, and the hottest temp is 49 Celsius.

    2 hard drives are at 49
    1 hard drive at 45 and the other at 44
    cpus are 44 and 37
    expansion slots 38
    ambient 25

    everything celsius

    and the fans are all below 800 rpm. there are 4 total according to istat pro.

    but i don't see the gpu temp. or should i?
     
  8. lannister80 macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #8
    Nope, GPU temps don't show up in iStat. At least not for my OEM ATI 2600 or my flashed XFX 4870.

    You have all manner of electronic stuff running, some of which are quite hot (Xbox, ps3). You must run AC 24/7 in the summer. :)
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    Check iStat's preferences (the small "i" in it) -> Display tab -> Temperatures -> Check that everything is checked

    Those temps seems to be normal though.
     
  10. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #10
    any way to view the GPU temp?

    yeah i haven't messed with the fans at all
     
  11. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #11
    yes, i made sure they were. but i don't get to see all the temps though. even though they all are checked, i only get to see the ones that i posted here
     
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    Do you have it vertically or horizontally? It made difference for me (vertical shows more). It could be that you can't see the GPU temp in Mac Pro, I don't know.
     
  13. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #13
    you cant view temp of gpu in mac pro, no driver for it.
    go windows for that.

    but really,
    you have alot of devices
    your room is hot

    solution: turn of devices or deal with the heat
    if you wanna know what's causing heat, go feel with your hand on your hardware

    but yes, mac pro can heat a room under load. i have the same as you in istat.
     
  14. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #14
    ok, now i can see all the temps

    i have 8 ram modules. temps= 72, 73, 66, 64, 75, 81, 74, 71
    northbridge 73
    powersupply 1 and 2 = 56, 59
    mem bank = 45, 51, 52, 45, 51, 57
    hd bays = 35, 34, 35, 36

    ok, i think that's it.

    oh ok. thanks
     
  15. lemonade-maker macrumors 6502

    lemonade-maker

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #15
    Turn some of that stuff off or implement stricter energy saving features. Do you really need all the stuff running at once?
     
  16. lannister80 macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #16
    Oh, I didn't see you were folding on these machines all day long. No wonder your place is hot.

    IDEA: For winter, can you stick all your machines in a single room, close the door, and open the window? Tada, instead chilly datacenter.
     
  17. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #17
    like i said, i've already cut back. not all of that stuff if running all the time, or at once. that's just what i have.

    as folding goes, i only have the white macbook, just the GPU of the i7 machine, and the ps3 folding. before i had those, plus the macbook pro and mac pro. and i haven't even folded with the i7 CPU yet, which is a real monster
     
  18. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #18
    well i'm not folding with all of them. just a couple now.

    i'd rather not open a window, mainly b/c of things like rain (it's raining now). but i might end up having to do that
     
  19. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #19
    why do ppl fold. i dont get it? you earn money on it?
     
  20. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #20
    helps to solve diseases like cancer.

    btw, i posted earlier the temps of my RAM in my mac pro. do they seem high? one was over 80 Celsius
     
  21. lannister80 macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #21
    That does seem pretty high. When I'm running BOINC on my 2008 MP, my RAM never gets over 65C (ambient temp of about 73F, or 23C).

    And that's with 6 of 8 slots filled. But I keep my RAM/Processor/IO fans at 820rpm.
     
  22. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #22
    oh man. and i'm not running anything like BOINC now. i mean, it's running as a web server, but that shouldn't be much.

    any ideas on what to do about this?
     
  23. lannister80 macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #23
    Either re-arrange your RAM so that the air flow is better (depending on how many full slots you have) or bump the fans.

    Does your RAM have the huge heat-spreaders on it like official Apple RAM? I've seen RAM that works in a Mac Pro (3rd party obviously) that has crappy heat-spreaders on it that can lead to high temps. If you were folding on that machine, would it crash? How hot does the memory get in that use mode?
     
  24. mcpryon2 macrumors 6502

    mcpryon2

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #24
    This might be kind of off-topic, but how does your AC work when it's 48 outside? I'm just wondering because if you have it on for an extended period of time at that low of an outside temp, it's going to freeze. I'd probably open a window instead.
     
  25. Bartman01 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #25
    Yes, computers (especially those under a heavy CPU load) can generate a ton of heat. There is a reason server rooms have their own climate control. If the room is too hot you have two choices:
    1) Remove/vent the hot air to the outside (or to a larger interior space).
    2) Add additional cooling to that room. If you need to add cold air while it is below 60 outside, consider adding an 'in room' unit.

    A few other things to try:
    Just run the fan on your climate control system. I do that during the winter to help circulate the hot air upstairs. One disadvantage of an 'open' floor plan is that in the winter once it get it 'just right' downstairs it can be unbearably warm upstairs.

    Stop running unnecessary programs like 'folding at home' when heat is an issue. Running your CPU/GPU at full tilt like this increases the heat output.

    Use a floor fan or two to circulate the air
     

Share This Page