Hello...new and need help? Please

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by katdav, Jun 16, 2013.

1. katdav macrumors newbie

Hi there, I am completely new to my beautiful new iMac...already had the iphone and iPad but always ran a windows pc, got a new windows 8 last year...hate it with a passion, so decided to get this iMac, love it with so much passion:apple::apple::apple: (no heart to add) ...anyway it is all new to me, there are lots of software I now need to get because I always worked with the Serif software for photos, pageplus, drawplus and most of all web plus...I am loathed to run horrid windows on this lovely imac so I will research the software similar but mac compatible..(anyone please feel free to advise)....anyway getting to my point, I have a WD My Passport, which contains all my photos from my pc, I always saved all my photos on this to access for the webpages I do for friends...I am afraid to just plug it into my iMac...can I access these photos into my imac if I do just plug it in via the usb? I am worried that if it asks to format the disk will I lose everything on My Passport? Thank you in advance, this imac is a huge learning curve for me...but I will get there....promise!!!:)

2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

gr8tfly

It'll read it fine. The only restriction my be that it'll only mound NTFS read only.

You can import them into iPhoto from there, for example.

I would recommend getting another My Passport for backups using Time Machine (doesn't have to be a My Passport, especially with a desktop machine - any external will work, though those My Passports are very fast over USB 3). I have the 1TB version: it's single cable bus powered over USB 3 and 115 MB/s fast.