Help a newer user optimize his PowerBook?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by cammykool, Jul 8, 2015.

1. cammykool macrumors regular

The model of my PPC is a A1095 I see you guys using your PPCs as daily machines and they are all modded and decked out with icons and themes and such. . Mine has been decently upgraded with 1.5gb of memory and a 160gb drive. I have 10.5 on it. I use TFF have some programs on it like an old version of Spotify and Diablo 2. What else can be done to make one more usable in 2015 by way of optimizations or customizations. I may be asking much. I don't know. I'm a complete noob in the PPC community.
    Thanks!

2. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

Dronecatcher

3. eyoungren macrumors P6

eyoungren

See the link in my signature if you want to optimize TenFourFox. Stock T4Fx tends towards conservative settings which are not as speedy.

4. cammykool thread starter macrumors regular

Something I wanted to ask you: what programs do you use. I see screenshots of your dock full of stuff. And speaking of witch. How do you so heavily theme OSX?

5. cammykool thread starter macrumors regular

6. eyoungren, Jul 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2015

eyoungren macrumors P6

eyoungren

For my main PowerBook G4 I use a few things.

The black menubar and windows comes from a theme called Black Mac OS X. That's a theme for Magnifique, which is a Leopard utility that lets you do this.

My icons/dock are an icon set from deviantart.com called Black Gloss 2.1. That can be applied with Candybar.

The three clocks are SimpleFloatingClock, an app which I duplicated twice so I could have three different instances of the clock. I just applied a transparent PNG for the clock face so all you see are the arms, which I colored white inside the app.

I have two Yahoo Widgets, Werewolf Monitor (the moon phase widget) and widescapeWeather which gives me my forecast.