Help Convert a Windows User

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hane, Oct 28, 2007.

1. Hane macrumors newbie

Hey guys, I've been visiting Macrumors and 9to5 every hour for like, the past 2 months, waiting for new macbooks to come out. I am a lifetime windows user, and am really turned on by the idea of macs, and all the stuff I see about em. Now, I am stepping back and thinking, what is the real benefit for me to get a (lets say, new macbook, assuming the next ones come out soon) Macbook, being that they are so much more expensive then regular windows laptop?

Heres some background on me. I don't really do any graphic work, and I don't really care about mobile gaming. I am using this mostly for school, and portable entertainment.

Please withhold the fanboyism here, I am looking for good reasons/good things I can do that I should go with an apple laptop, over the windows. Like, real reasons. Thanks guys, i'm just trying to justify my wanting for a macbook.

2. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

deadpixels

Where do you get that from?? any example??

What is it you call a 'real reason' ?
    like, no need for Antivirus, is that a real reason?
    like less crashes, better UI and so on ...

3. Hane thread starter macrumors newbie

Basically when I say real reasons, I mean don't focus on the "blue screen of death" which I havent seen in years, or common crashing on windows, which isn't true either. You know, just realistic observations. As far as pricing, specwise, they are more expensive then their windows counterparts. I'm not taking windows side here at all, i'm just trying to get some positive reasons why people like their macs so much.

4. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

Sigh.

If you buy a Mac at around the time a new revision is released and you really compare all features in the Mac you find that the "premium cost" is not that much. Even now, the Dell XPS M1330 is pretty close to the Macbook and starts at $1199, i.e. similarly priced to the Macbook.