Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

trueq

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 21, 2013
Hi, I would be very greatful if some one could help me.

I am looking for some advice or resolution please as i have stupidly deleted my mac hd internal hard drive.

I was trying to reformat my whole imac and start again from a fresh and erased the volume mac drive which appears in the disk utility. It now longer appears as a drive after i deleted it. As a newbie i didnt have a partition created so i have no back up.
I have the installation disks and booted the imac up after deleting the drive as i can no longer use the imac as it seems to have been wiped. When i try to run the boot disk it wants me too select a drive to reinstall but no drive appears as its been deleted so i cannot see what i can do to reinstall my mac as it keeps asking for a drive to apply the reinstall to but i cant as its no longer there as i deleted it.

I did do a time machine back up of my files on my external hard drive via time machine beforehand but not sure if this has worked but as when i try to create a new drive via disk utility at the boot screen it is greyed out when i access my external hard drive and browse the files on it.

All i wanted to do was to reinstall my imac to its factory condition but in short deleted the hd volume and cannot reinstall as it wants me to select a drive to apply the reinstall to but it not there.

Any help i would be really greatful as i seemed too have truely deleted the drive it wants me to reinstall too.

many thanks Craig

mossy

macrumors regular
Sep 11, 2013
Ireland
Power off the computer.
Turn it back on and hold down 'cmd' key and 'r' key together at the same time.
See if it boots into recovery mode.

What model is your computer btw?

trueq

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 21, 2013
Hi,