HELP! HELP! Retrieving pictures on disabled iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by appleguy1987, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. appleguy1987 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    #1
    Good morning, in a major dilemma. My gf dropped her phone and it shattered the screen. She had never backed the phone up before and there was never enough icloud storage for her backups when it tried to do an auto backup. We took the phone to my office to hook it up to itunes, it wouldn't let us in because of her pass code, touch id was not working. We finally gave up and went out to the mall where Ifix installed a new screen on it so we could unlock the phone and back up to icloud with more storage. When the store turned it on the phone was in disabled mode. The wifi is not turned on on it. After spending 3 hours there troubleshooting we got no where, so they put the damaged screen back on and we left. Is there ANY possible way some how that we can retrieve the pictures off of this phone. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. She now is using a temp phone for the time being so it buys time to try to retrive the pictures on her 6. Thank you, we really really dont want to wipe it unless all options are exhausted. Phone is an Iphone 6 running i think 8.1 or 8.2
     
  2. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #2
    I had this issue a while back, let me find the thread that helped me get the pix off.
     
  3. appleguy1987 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    #3
    That would be greatly appreciated
     
  4. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
  5. Jsameds Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #5
    Plug it into a PC, drag and drop from the iPhone that appears in My Computer.

    You're welcome.
     
  6. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #6
    Can you can do that if the phone is locked?
     
  7. Jsameds Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #7
    Yep. On a PC it appears as a drive with photos and videos that you can just drag and drop, regardless of a passcode.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. appleguy1987 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    #8
    The iphone doesnt even appear in the my computer area
     
  9. Jsameds Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #9
    Must be damaged internally then, would be my best guess. Try taking it to an Apple Store.
     
  10. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #10
    Try a different lead & computer, but if nothing changes, then I think @Jsameds could be right, there's something further going on.
     
  11. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #11
    You can't do that on a computer that's not a 'trusted' device.
     
  12. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #12
    Good point.

    OP-what should happen when you connect the phone, is that a box pops up asking you if you want to trust the computer you've attached it to.

    From memory, I think you get a box that says "Trust/Cancel" (perhaps someone else can confirm), so if you can work out where the Trust box is on the damaged screen you can press it and then the phone should appear in Explorer.
     
  13. lamborghini392 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    #13
    Pretty sure for security reasons you have to have the phone unlocked to get a trust computer pop up. Btw, what do you mean by disabled... like lock screen disabled... Or like iCloud locked?
     
  14. appleguy1987 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    #14
    When you plug in the phone a message on the computer says "Itunes cannot connect to iphone because it is protected with a pass code and is lost", ive never seen a trust or cancel option anywhere
     
  15. appleguy1987 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    #15
    When the ifix store connected the new screen to test it and try to get access all the phones home screen says is "Iphone is Disabled, connect to itunes" which it wants it to connect it to its home synced computer, problem is shes never plugged it in anywhere and didnt set an actual itunes home comp/ back up comp up. We tried to make a new user acct on my computer, logged into her icloud account and authorized this computer, but I still get the main pop up on the computer screen of ""Itunes cannot connect to iphone because it is protected with a pass code and is lost", i believe it says disabled cause we tried to enter the password with the screen broken to many times
     
  16. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
  17. appleguy1987 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    #17
    I just plugged it back in to double check and it specifically says "iTunes could not connect to "Iphone" because the iphone is locked and in lost mode".

    Its wanting the phone to be connected to its "home base sync'd account" when the phone never had one to begin with. Ive authorized this computer to be associated with this phone and no luck. An apple specialist in town had it yesterday for almost 5 hours and couldn't get into it. Im really running out of ideas. He suggested to try and call apple and talk to a senior adviser and said maybe the apple store has a backdoor into this thing. They HAVE to have a way into this thing bypassing all this itunes security non sense. I understand its in place for stolen phones etc. But what about the legit situations like this where were just trying to salvage the pictures
     
  18. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #18
    If the iPhone is in Lost Mode, then it has to be taken out of Lost Mode - either at iCloud.com or by using the Find My iPhone App. Here are the instructions: https://support.apple.com/kb/PH2700

    Somebody has to put an iPhone into Lost Mode - it doesn't happen by itself. If you or your girlfriend didn't do it... Are you positive the repair shop gave you the same iPhone?
     
  19. Conan86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    https://support.apple.com/en-sg/HT204306

    Sorry but I kinda find your situation very fishy.. I don't understand how it got disabled if you couldn't enter passcode when the screen was broken, and also why is it in lost mode. You should be able to disable lost mode if you have the Apple ID associated with it and the passcode that was used to lock it in lost mode. Otherwise, I don't think you can get your data back anymore since there weren't any backup or computer that used to "Trust" your device.
     
  20. appleguy1987 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    #20
    I believe when we took it into the mall store on sunday for the screen swap they enabled the lost my iphone feature on it for whatever reason, i remember him clicking on it. And yes were possitive its her phone, same color same dings and same glass screen protector on it. When I log into her icloud account and go into her lost my iphone section it says her phone is blacked out and says offline. It says offline, play sound, lost mode, erase iphone , and remove from account. I went into the lost mode and it prompts you to enter a phone number for when its found, theres no option in there to remove it from lost mode ive searched
     
  21. appleguy1987 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    #21
    First and foremost I understand it sounds fishy, but we have absolutely no issue going to apple and verifying its her phone, account etc with ID, account pin, the pictures on there would prove its hers. And thats all we want to retrieve, getting a new screen and or a new phone is the easy part. its unlocking it so we can perform a backup before we get anew phone or new screen thats the difficult part. We have obviously have the apple id and we can get into icloud and all of that. Were guessing when we first hooked it up at my office with the broken screen and tried typing in the password 20+ times on a broken screen it automatically locked us out which is why it probably went into disabled mode. As far as lost mode we cant explain that, neither of us put it into lost mode cause it obviously isnt lost. Like i said in the previous post i saw the ifix store employee messing around with the find my iphone settings. Perhaps it cant be taken out of lost mode because we got her into a friends droid to use until we have hers replaced so theres no service to it and the wifi wasnt enabled on it when the dropping occurred.
     
  22. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #22
    This is how Apple says to exit Lost Mode

    https://support.apple.com/kb/PH2700?locale=en_US
     
  23. appleguy1987 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    #23

    Ive looked so many times, in the find my iphone area it says "Iphone is offline" at the bottom where it says "lost mode" it says "turn on lost mode on this iphone". So does that mean its not even on? Cause then it promts me to enter in a phone number for when its found. When the store put on the temp screen to try to unlock it it still displayed, Iphone is disabled, in a lost iphone situation wouldnt the screen say this iphone is lost?
     
  24. CNeufeld macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    #24
    Unfortunately for you, Apple doesn't HAVE to have a backdoor to get into things like this. If they did, they would be responsible for responding to legal requests to get access to phones involved with criminal activities, and as far as I know, they've been in court several times for that, and avoided doing anything in each case. And this is a feature, not a design flaw. This way, you know your data is secure and not getting out into anyone else's hands, no matter what.

    C
     
  25. Conan86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #25
    Try turning on lost mode from the website, who knows you might be able to set a passcode for it to be unlocked..
     

Share This Page