Help me convince my IT guy to switch me to Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dpaslay, Jan 9, 2009.

1. dpaslay macrumors newbie

Hello, I'm a Graphic Designer and I have Leopard at home but not at work, I asked my IT guy to switch me over but he said "why" and I said because it's faster and better looking, and he said "sorry that's not good enough, leopard isn't faster, I need something more convincing". What can I tell him? I think it's faster and doesn't CS3 run better on Leopard?

2. rockos macrumors member

faster
    better security
    better back ups
    easier to fix....screen sharing ichat,
    besides why not

3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

And a lot of that requires another Mac in the picture too.

I'm sure you sold them right there.

4. Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

5. JLatte macrumors 6502

You could use metaphors... such as Windows is like a thick carpet. It's hard to clean, requires vacuuming and certain substances have a tendency to gather in the fibers requiring steam cleaning. The only way to protect against these substances is by laying down lots of carpet protection such as newspapers, paper towels, etc. Too much maintenance.

Macs are like hardwood floors. Just need a towel and a sponge and you're good to go. Much more slick and easier to clean up, get more work done faster and more efficiently.

Hope this helps!

6. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

themoonisdown09

Since he's a graphic designer, I would assume he's using a Mac and I'm guessing that he's currently running Tiger... am I right?

7. aristobrat macrumors G4

If I were your IT person, depending on how I was (or wasn't) backing you up, this would sell me:
    http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/timemachine.html

8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

You can't backup in a Windows managed environment right guys? :rolleyes: