Help please! Prohibitory Sign installing Leopard os x after using dban on 2008 imac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by blueskyflyers, Jun 27, 2016.

  1. blueskyflyers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    So I got an imac from work after we upgraded all of the computers. Its a mid 2008 imac, it was running os x Leopard 10.5.8 prior. Apparently they used DBAN on it to wipe out private/sensitive information. I tried burning a .dmg file for leopard 10.5 installation on my pc laptop with PowerIso on a DLDVD (8.5 gb). In the imac it starts to load, i see the gray apple logo, then it turns to the prohibitory sign soon after. I tried hooking up an ethernet cable and doing a cmd+r start up for internet recovery and nothing works, I think the 2008 model isn't recent enough for that? I have read that since I made the install disk on a pc (or even if you make it on a different model imac?) that it might not work on this model imac? Do i have to get another mid 2008 imac to burn the .dmg file properly in disk utility? Super confused. Any help would be appreciated thanks!
     
  2. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #2
    You've probably got the retail 10.5.0 .dmg file.
    I'd suggest using a later system, as it can run anything up to the last El Capitan.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 28, 2016 ---
    You've probably got the retail 10.5.0 .dmg file.
    I'd suggest using a later system, as it can run anything up to the last El Capitan.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    OP:

    Skip Leopard completely, go to 10.6.x "Snow Leopard".

    Actually, a 2008 iMac will run as well using 10.8.5 "Mountain Lion".

    As blueskyflyers mentioned above, it will even run 10.11 "El Capitan" -- although the performance running from an older platter-based hard disk drive may leave something to be desired.

    I set up a friend with Mountain Lion on a 2008-vintage iMac, and it's still doing fine.
     
  4. hobowankenobi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Location:
    on the land line mr. smith.
    #4
    Would be wise to format the HD first too. You never know what has been done to it or why....
     

Share This Page