Help Please

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by kassieeex3, Dec 12, 2011.

  1. kassieeex3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #1
    I just bought an iphone 3gs, which was allegedly jailbroken. But, when I inserted my sim it said sim failure, and showed no bars, now it just says no service. Please, help me out.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    A jailbreak and unlock are not the same thing.
     
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
  4. kassieeex3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #4
    And how would i unlock it?
     
  5. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #5
    Like Intell said. Jailbreak & unlock are 2 different things. Your phone might have been jailbroken but not unlocked.

    Can you check few things on the phone for me?

    1. What is the modem firmware on it? Go to setting/general/about and look at the bottom of that screen.
    2. Open Cydia/manage/sources/repo666.ultrasn0w.com/ultrasn0w and see if you see a green check next to it.

    Once I have these info, I can tell you whether your phone is unlocked or not.
     
  6. kassieeex3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #6
    Firmware: 05.16.02

    How would I open that? in safari?
    Pardon my ignorance, I'm really new to this.
     
  7. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #7
    You don't need to open safari. Base on this baseband, your phone is not unlocked. Like others said, you need to unlock your phone in order for it to work on your sim.

    Redmondpie.com and/or iclarified.com have all the tutorials to jailbreak & unlock your phone.
     
  8. kassieeex3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #8
    I found it, and it didn't have the check, and I mistakenly pressed install and it now says searching. and now says no service.
     
  9. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #9
    Even you install ultrasn0w, you can't unlock your phone because if its baseband. Ultrasn0w will not work with the baseband you have on your phone. In order for you to unlock it, you will have to install an Ipad baseband 06.15. Once you do that, then you can install ultrasn0w to unlock your phone.
     
  10. kassieeex3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #10
    oh jesus... This is frustrating.
     
  11. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #11
    What firmware version you have on your phone?

    Setting/general/about and look at version.
     
  12. kassieeex3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #12
    4.3.3
     
  13. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #13
    Your only option to unlock your phone is to put the ipad baseband on your phone. however, once you do that, your phone GPS will no longer work.

    Please read the dev team blog on this issue first. Once you decide you want to proceed, I can guide you to the next step;

    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/1718400992/ultra-recycle
     
  14. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #14
  15. kassieeex3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #15
    Well, I really dont have a choice do I? How badly could it hurt not to have GPS?
     
  16. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #16
    Well, you do have a choice. Sell your phone and get a factory unlocked Iphone.

    I think it is your call about GPS issue.
     
  17. kassieeex3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #17
    Touche. I'll just go through with it.
     
  18. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #18
    Since your phone already jailbroken. All you need to do is to put the ipad baseband on it. So, here is what you need to do;

    1. download redsn0w 0.9.6rc16 onto your computer.
    2. download iphone 3gs 4.3.3 firmware onto your computer.
    3. download Ipad 1, 3.2.2 firmware onto your computer.

    Run redns0w, click on "Browse" and select 4.3.3 firmware, then pop up window will show up, click the box appropriate for your 3GS, then click next.

    Click "instal Ipad baseband", pop up window will show up, click yes, then click next and follow its instruction.

    Once you done, open Cydia, mananage, sources, repo666.ultrasn0w.com and then install ultrasn0w.

    if you use T-Mobile sim, go to setting, general, network and turn off 3G.

    Once you complete all the above, your phone is unlocked and y=You should be able to use your phone with any GSM sim.
     
  19. kassieeex3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #19
    How long does it take to do this? My phone a has been on the downloading jailbreak data screen for over twenty minutes, and the program wont move from the same loading place either.
     
  20. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
  21. kassieeex3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #21
    right. Thanks :)
     
  22. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
  23. kassieeex3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #23
    It seems to be working just fine, but now it wont sync anything with my laptop.
     
  24. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #24
    Strange...never have this issue with number of Iphones I have worked on. Can you check it with other computers you have in the house?
     
  25. kassieeex3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #25
    this phone is killing me. It worked fine all of yesterday, today as i was using it, it shut down on me randomly. And now wont get past the apple logo.
     

Share This Page